Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Waiting On a Pants Losing: Jan 29th to Feb 6th

Well folks I couldn't help myself and bought more books (its a crazy obsession). So here's some of my recent purchases and books that are being released this week that I am looking forward to, and will cause a pants losing in the future.












My Recent Purchases



1) 18% Gray by Anne Tenino *I have heard some great things about this one, so I went ahead and bought it*
2) Ex Equals by L.A Witt *I have a few books from the Hot College Daze series, so I thought 'why the hell not' plus I sorta like L.A Witt*
3) More by Sloan Parker *I love M/M/M and this one sounds and looks like it will be awesmazing*
4) Ink by Isabelle Rowan *I am a cover whore, so it wasn't even a question if I should buy it or not*
5) Tono by Mickie B Ashling * Loved the first book Loving Edits, so I am really excited to read Tono*

This Week Releases

Cinder by Marie Sexton
February 4th, 2012

This sounds like a story I really wanna read, plus its Marie Sexton. That's like guaranteed awesomeness!






Taking the Dare by Lee Brazil
 February 3rd, 2012                

So if you didn't know already I loved book one and two in this series, they were just amazing. With book 2 being my favourite, because of the hot twincest and menage *yep, its as hot as it sounds*.






A Spell of Passion or Fear by T.C Mill
February 1st, 2012 

I have not a clue about this author, but as a self proclaimed cover slut. I could not let this book pass *I love that cover*. It also sounds intriguing and other stuff.






So there it is folks, the books I am looking forward to being released this week. There is tons more out there, so let me know what will be causing a pants losing for you this week.

Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan

Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan
Loose-Id
Novel: 153pages
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Roe Davis is a man who works hard, keeps to himself, and never mixes business with pleasure — until he takes a weekend away from his new job at Nowhere Ranch and runs into the owner at the only gay bar for two hundred miles. Getting involved with the boss is a bad idea, but Travis Loving is hard to say no to, especially when it turns out their kinks line up like a pair of custom-cut rails. As Loving points out, so long as this is sex on the side, no interfering with the job, they could make it work.

The truth is, there’s good reason Roe never settles down and always spends his birthdays and holidays celebrating alone. Shut out in the cold by his family years ago, Roe survived by declaring he didn’t need a home. As his affair with Loving grows into more than just sex, Roe finds out what happens when he stays put a little bit too long: the past always catches up with you. Eventually, even a loner gets lonely, and home will grow up through whatever cracks you leave open for it — even in a place called Nowhere.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Male/male sexual practices, strong BDSM theme and elements, fetish play.

Review
For all that is sweet and holy, I was not expecting Nowhere Ranch to be so awesmazing. I imagined cowboys, hay lifting, and all that fun stuff, but it’s what our main characters did behind closed doors that make this book shine. I gotta tell you folks my pants abandoned ship 25 pages into the book and did not return. I have ceased to go looking for them. Can I get a ‘hawt, hawt’, and a ‘bloody fucking shit’ because you will be saying both those phrases when you read this book.

Roe Davis is just a man who works hard, and lives for himself. He’s been alone for quite sometime, and that’s the way he likes it. Moving from one ranch to another is his way, because he won’t settle. A quick hook-up here and there, but nothing long lasting. Working at Nowhere Ranch it seems perfect, until he goes into town to get laid and run into his boss. Well Roe doesn’t mix business and pleasure but with his boss Travis Loving, Roe might find all that he’s been looking for.

Though Travis plays an important role in the story, it’s Roe that steals the show. It’s as if he said ‘hey Darien do you wanna see what I do each day in and out of the bedroom?’. It was the most intimate thing I have ever read. Roe’s fears, sadness, and love became apart of me. It’s as if Heidi Cullinan gifted me with watching Roe grow, and grow he did. I felt like an absolute voyeur throughout the book, and that my friend is due to some awesmazing writing.

What Roe and Travis get up to is not for the faint of heart. Say what you want but it takes skill to write a BDSM novel, because with BDSM it’s more than sex. It becomes trust, and showing that one person all the things you will never share with anyone else. Roe is this complex character, sexual yet shy, confident yet without confidence, and he fascinates me. Travis is simply beautiful and just such a realistic character. Not all about the hard tone abs, and the stamina of young men, he is just a kind man that likes to play dirty (oh yeh).

Overall, this book is a fantastic read and fantastically sexy. There is so much to say but I don’t wanna ruin this for you. I can say that this book has the best female character I have ever read in M/M, *Haley I heart you*. This was fantastic and I just effing love it, that is all.

4 1/2 Pants Off



Monday, January 30, 2012

Menage Mondays: Breaking Clay by Eden Cole


Happy Monday, and its time for Menage Monday. Though I wouldn't recommend placing this story at the top of any list. It was just all over the place and the editing quite frankly just sucked (and not in the good way).


Breaking Clay by Eden Cole
Short Novella: 64pages
Rating: 2.25 out of 5

Blurb: When Clay is injured after falling off the bull he’d been riding, sexy bartenders Bo and Trace take him into their home until he’s back on his feet. These are the two men Clay tried to pick up when he first arrived in the small town of Deadwater, Texas. He figures it’s is the perfect opportunity to have a quick fling before he’s back on the road. But Bo sees the dominate cowboy in Clay, and he won’t just hand over Trace to him. Not until Clay let’s Bo break him in.

Bo and Clay fight constantly, both pig-headed, both trying to the big man in control. Trace is caught in the middle offering Clay kisses to heal is wounded pride and hoping he and Bo can reach some compromise. Until then he’ll seduce them both in his own way. Bo is determined to break down Clay’s resistance no matter what he has to do.

Thoughts: I don’t even know what to say about this one. I was crazy ready to lose my pants to this book, with a title like ‘Breaking Clay’ who wouldn’t be. Well Clay should have been left whole and complete. I guess the idea behind having a man bend at your will is sexy as hell. This book just went about it all wrong.

So Clay is in the rodeo and it has stopped at a town called Deadwater in Texas (jeez why must Texas town names sound so ominous). He unwinds at a bar and tries to pick up the bartender cus his gaydar is going off. Only to he gets denied because Mr. sexy bartender has a very sexy boyfriend. Clay knows when to back off and so he does, but he can’t deny that the couple was hot.

As a bull rider, Clay’s job is highly dangerous and that danger catches up to him when he is injured during a competition. With no family or friends its Trace and Bo the couple from the bar to his rescue. Clay is thinking that finally, he can get into Trace’s pants injured and all but there’s a catch, Bo has to break him in.

Is Clay some kind of horse or saddle or something? I don’t know about you but I am deeply offenced (is that even a word =_= ) Bo is overbearing and kinda of annoying. He’s Mr. know it all, as if he has some psychic powers when it comes to Clay. I can’t even begin call this a ménage relationship, cus it just seems like sex to me.

The editing is a serious problem, and if I noticed editing then ‘publisher we have a problem’. I don’t really make a big deal about editing and all that because I am no editing expert, but I swore at one point Bo was literally giving himself a blow-job *I was surprised that he was also a gymnast*. That happened so many times through out the story with the mix-up of characters names. It really throws you out of the story and it seems so minor but it just happened too excessively for me to let it slide.

Overall, I am disappointed in this story, and I am not impressed with the ménage relationship of it all. It was really hard to like the characters, and I feel like I hardly know them. I think 64pages is just way too short to give a man an injury, have him move in with two complete strangers and try to forge a lasting trias relationship.

2 1/2 Pants Off



Always Remember:"3 is never a crowd and one more is always invited"


A Year Of Firsts- First book by author Eden Cole

Sunday, January 29, 2012

What's Happening This Week!!

Howdy folks, I hope you guys had a fantabulous week. It was crazy fun here at Pants Off, we had the Shameless Blog Hop and what a great success that was. I have some new followers and I hope to hear from you guys and get you over to the M/M side (so much fun to be had). So welcome and lets have lots of fun!

This week is a reviewing week, I think I must have only put out one review last week. So this week I am catching up, so without further rambling. Here's whats causing a pants losing this week.

Monday- It's 'Menage Monday' and this little short story was a full blown mess. I was super excited about this one causing a pants losing and it did, but the story had too many problems.

Tuesday- I am talking about my recent purchases (yeh I bought more books) and what reads I am looking forward to in February.

Also hitting you up with a review for Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan which was pure awesmazingness.


Wednesday- A review for Kidnapped by Megan Derr. I am still trying to wrap my brain around this one @__@.

Thursday- Review for Marked by Joely Skye just cause I am in the mood for some PNR.


Friday- I think I forgot all about this post last week. So now I am posting my fave online fics or fanfics. Some of them are truly great.

If I feel like posting something else I will (me spontaneous).

 
Announcements

Check out my interview with Josephine Myles, and comment and you can win a book from her backlist (her stuff is awesome) Here. Wednesday February 1st at 12:00AM contest ends.

Also don't forget to vote for the author of the week. Poll can be found on the left side of the blog.




Saturday, January 28, 2012

Winners!!!!!!



The Shameless Giveaway Hop has been fantabulous and I am happy I was apart of it (I am so doing it again). Now its time to choose the lucky winners. *Drum Roll Please* and the winners are...




Elizabeth K

&
Andrea I


*The emails have been sent, so look out for them and make sure they don't become spam. If no reply in 48hrs another winner is chosen*

'Thanks to the wonderful Megan Derr and Blaine D. Arden for being apart of the giveaway. I really appreciate it'.

Didn't win this time around, well you get another chance to be apart of a wonderful give away. Check out my interview with Josephine Myles and comment and get a chance at her backlist HERE

Friday, January 27, 2012

Tailor Made by Josephine Myles

Tailor Made by Josephine Myles
Amber Allure
Novella: 103pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
When Mr. Wrong measures up just right!

College tart Felix McAvoy is used to causing a stir with his conceptual art pranks, but for his final show he's planning something even more outrageous. In a last ditch attempt to seduce his jaded tutor, Felix plans to wear the canvas in a subversive display. However, if he's going to do this right he'll need a tailor-made canvas suit. Fortunately, he knows just the tailor to turn to for the favour—and Felix isn't shy about offering favours of a very different kind in return.

First year fashion student Andrew Wheeler knows Felix by reputation only—and plans to keep things that way. Andrew's determined to save himself for the man of his dreams, and Felix couldn't be more different from his ideal Mr. Right. There's only one use Andrew will contemplate for Felix's body: a model for his end of year project. Trouble is, it's going to involve a lot of close contact with a nearly naked Felix, and Andrew's never had temptation quite so close at hand...


Review:
I love this author’s work! She is able to bring two men who are as different as night and day together and make beautiful sweet man love. So is the case with Tailor Made, we have the fantabulous tart Felix and the virginal and shy Andrew. What both men have in common is that they attend the same art school and they are both set in their ways when it comes to how they live their life.

Felix is a manslut and he just does not care, he doesn’t pretend to be something he is not. He has been lusting after his art professor for quite sometime, and he has a plan to finally get him and he’s gonna need the help of fashion student Andrew to do it. What he doesn’t expect is that Andrew is not easily persuaded by sex; but where there’s will there is always a way. So shameful flirt Felix goes in hard (and I do mean hard).

In this case, opposites do attract and the boys find themselves needing each other. Yes, there is want and the uncontrollable lust but there is also the friendship that has been formed and the easy acceptance of each other. Andrew the virgin and Felix who is Mr Experience together is just right.

I loved how smiley this story made me, Felix is outrageous and you can’t help loving him. I find I like them when their super slutty, it makes when they find love all that much sweeter. Andrew is shy but he’s far from tame, he had some incredibly sexy moments. I can honestly say that when the bad meets the good, they f*ck amazingly (my cheekiness for the day). If you are looking for a light and fun read, then look no further this story is it.


4 Pants Off



SideNote- I would pay good money to see Felix in a dress!
 

 
Check out my interview with Josephine Myles and comment and win a book from her backlist.

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Interview & Giveaway: Josephine Myles

I am super excited to welcome the awesmazing Josephine Myles to the blog. Its also a spectacular moment for the blog... because it is my very first author interview *YAY*. So Jo is here chatting it up, and answering my questions. Also Jo has brought a give away to one lucky commenter 'Winner's Choice'!!


Hi Jo and welcome to the Pants Off, it’s great to have you here.
Hi Darien, thanks for inviting me over!

Tell us a bit about yourself, and how long you've been writing? 
As for me? Well, I’m a scatty, tea-addicted Brit who spends far too much time daydreaming. I live in a small town in rural Somerset, England, with my cheeky six-year-old daughter and long-suffering husband. I used to be a real wild child, but these days I get my kicks writing smutty stories and knitting socks.

I suppose I’d have to say I’ve been writing all my life, although I took a long break after studying Creative Writing (among other subjects) at university. I became scared of the strange things my muse was throwing at me—not only was much of it way beyond my experience, but I knew I’d end up writing explicit sex scenes and I just wasn’t sure if I could handle anyone else reading those.

Fast forward to the summer of 2009 when, frustrated beyond belief by one of my favourite TV characters being killed off (Ianto in Torchwood), I discovered the weird and wonderful world of slash fanfiction. I started writing a story to bring Ianto back to life, then realized how much I loved writing just for the fun of it. I submitted my first original short story in January 2010, and I haven’t looked back.

Was gay fiction something you always wanted to write? Or did you develop an interest over time?
I’d always been fascinated by homoeroticism and gay romance, even before the m/m genre existed. I can clearly remember the first time I read Maurice by E.M. Forster (I was seventeen) – it felt so utterly right to me. I ended up writing my A-level English Literature paper about it.

There are all kinds of ideas for gay stories back in my notebooks from university. I just never knew there was any kind of market for women writing about gay men. I
also wasn’t sure if it was something I should write—especially explicitly sexual scenes between two men.


I have read both Barging In & Boats in the Night, and if you could just tell us a bit about what inspired you to write both stories?
Barging In was always intended to be a class romance on the canal, but I liked the idea of playing with expectations by having the boater as someone who’d started as upper-middle class, and the professional writer with a working class background. Beyond that, the driving inspirational image in my head was of a sexy man chopping wood by the canal.

Boats in the Night sprung from an idea for an erotic short story with a canalside house owner getting it on with a boater who stops at the end of his garden. However, the set-up seemed ripe with possibilities so I gave it a go as a novella. I liked the idea of contrasting a character like Giles who was utterly rooted in one spot, with someone footloose and fancy free. My inspirational image for the story was a dreadlocked man juggling fire.


  Barging In and Boats in the Night deal with the narrowboat lifestyle. Is that something you have experienced? And was there a half-naked hottie involved?
I did indeed live on a narrowboat for two years, cruising up and down the Kennet and Avon canal near Bath. One of my favourite canal-side sights was of the boater men stripping down to work on their engines or chop wood. They were always tanned, toned and tattooed – you got some great eye-candy along there!

Sadly, no matter how I attempted to persuade him, my husband would always chop wood with a T-shirt on :(

There is always diversity in stories I have read by you, where people of different ethnicity and social background fall in love. Is that something you feel strongly about? Where love knows no color or creed?
Absolutely! I love to see what happens when throwing together two characters who are strongly attracted to each other, but who come from different worlds. The opportunity for conflict is rife, but so is the chance to show that despite our
differences in upbringing, we all share a common humanity and can find so many ways to connect.

I also think in some ways it’s a reaction to growing up in a very middle-class, white town. I always craved more diversity around me, even as a small child. I used to daydream about living in the inner city above a bustling street market!

 Is it hard to write all that hot and sexy man love in your books? 
Yes and no. Yes because the sex scenes always take me longer to write than the other bits. You have to be extra careful with your pronouns, and you have to watch for repetition as there are a limited number of words available to describe the mechanics of what’s going on.

But no, because they are without a doubt the bits I look forward to writing the most. I love to get the characters to that place where they’re overwhelmed by sensation and utterly vulnerable. Sex scenes are rich with possibilities for strong emotions and revelatory experiences. I always try to make them about more than simply the smexing – they’re there to further the plot and show important details about the characters and how they relate to each other.

That’s what I tell myself, anyway. It’s entirely possible that I’m just a perv looking to justify my peculiar obsession!
*Well then I guess we're all a bit pervy*


So you have a new release out. Can you tell us a bit about it, and your future plans in writing? 
I have a new novella out called Tailor Made. It’s an erotic romantic comedy involving two students at an arts college. Tarty artist Felix seeks out virginal fashion student Andrew to help him with one of his projects, and ends up offering his body in exchange – both as a model and more! Neither of them expect to fall for each other as Felix is convinced he’s in love with his stern tutor, whereas Andrew has an image of a Mr. Right in his head that he’s been holding out for.


I also have a few shorts coming out this next month, but I’m most excited about my next novel, to be released by Samhain in April. Handle with Care is narrated by Ben, a virtually housebound recluse whose life is ruled by his dialysis regime. He falls for the punky delivery guy who brings him his porn DVDs, but the age gap and his ill health means Ben can’t imagine him and Ollie ever being more than a fantasy. Ollie feels differently, however...

As for what I’m working on next? That’s an m/m/m bawdy comedy which I really need to get back to writing if I’m going to get it finished in time...

This question is mostly for me ^_^
One of my favorite movies is Guess Who's Coming to Dinner starring Sidney Poitier. A young white girl brings home a very black fiancé and presents him to her parents (she shocks their pants off). 

My question is... Would you consider ever writing a M/M story that follows a similar pattern?
I can see that making a great short story in its own right. I played with that sort of scene in Barging In when Robin brings Dan to lunch with his family, but doing it with race and/or sexuality as the shocking factor would be interesting. I’ll add it to the pile of ideas – thanks Darien!

The gay Twilight, would you write it?  * Anticipating Answer*
In a word: no! Actually, I’ve never seen Twilight but I have no particular yen to write a vampire story. If I ever did, it would probably end up as either a screwball comedy or something packed with angsty, steamy sex like Jordan Castillo Price’s fabulous Channeling Morpheus series. From what I understand, Twilight is a rather chaste affair.
 
Shoot, I was hoping you would have said yes.

Pants, is it better to write with them on or off? (for research purposes only ^_~ )
Well, seeing as how “pants” means underpants over here, I’d have to say... maybe! I write best when I’m comfortable, so usually that means wearing a skirt, although I do have a lovely new pair of jeans I’m wearing now. What I don’t do is slob around in my pjs or a pair of jogging bottoms all day. I have standards, dammit!

Thanks for being here Jo and answering my question, it was awesmazing have you here.

You can find Josephine on her website and blog josephinemyles.com  where you can check out her books and other goodies *free reads*.


Jo has brought a giveaway for you lucky readers. It's a Winner's Choice affair, so the power lies with you. Go ahead and check out Miss Myles website if you are unfamiliar with her work, or check out reviews here on Pants Off. Contest runs until Wendesday, Feburary 1st at 12:00AM EST!

- must be 18 or older
- leave email address with your comment
- you have 48hrs to reply to email or another winner will be chosen (make sure my email doesn't become spam)
- winner will be chosen by random.org/rafflecopter

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

You, Me & Yaoi: Cut #3

By: Shiuko Kano
Rating: 3 out of 5
 Blurb: Affair is a collection of short stories from a manga-ka whose men ooze testosterone. Shuiko Kano has never been shy about portraying real adult relationships and while Affair is a bit more subtle than her usual fair, it is by no means an exception.

Yoshiyuki and Haruomi, teammates on a high school baseball team, discover their feelings for each other years after their golden days. Will a chance reunion blossom into an unexpected love? Kyouichi and Hijiri find out that there are things thicker than blood ties in the world of the yakuza. Will these two yakuza sons discover that they have more in common than underworld business dealings? Takei and Hirose put their luck to the test in a mahjong game that will decide that fate of their jobs. But is there more than just money on the line? Yagi's driver's education teacher, Tamiya, seems to have more on his mind than just the usual student-teacher relationship... Is Yagi above showing a little skin to pass his test?


Buy Manga here

3 1/2 Pants Off

Thoughts: This manga is a series of one-shots (short stories), and I tend to hate one-shots not because they suck but because sometimes they are so good they need a freaking book to themselves. So is the case with this manga, too much angst and not enough story to make it work. Short stories should be fun, sweet, and smutty and things get solved. When there’s an intense story line, everything just feels too rushed and makes no freaking sense.

The first story Affair that is my favourite in the whole manga, deals with high school lovers who reunite after quite sometime. This story also contains my biggest peeve. Things usually get over looked in yaoi very easily, like cheating and overall douche bagginess. I can’t let this slide though, if there is sex going on in my bed then it better me who’s having it.  That deserves a drop kick of epic proportions.

My Dear Mad Dog is the story that should have been longer. There is just too much going on, all that angst and not enough pages for it. It does have my fave drawing in the whole entire book. Believe it took a lot for them to get there (check the end of post).

One Lucky Guy and Love Machine are sweet and fluffy goodness, with some slight angst and all the boy drama you can think of.  The sex isn’t overly explicit; you see what you need to.

Overall, I liked it and loved the epilogue at the end that’s a short follow up to the first story. The art is good, and Kano draws some beautiful males.


I Love This!!



Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Author Week







So I have my five authors that I have read for the very first time this year. Since I am so indecisive I need your help to pick the Author of the Week.

I have put a poll up on the left side of the blog and if you could vote it would be really helpful ^_^.  How awesome will it be to read one author for the week and there might/kinda/will be a giveaway (cryptic).


So Vote!!

Thank You

Waiting On A Pants Losing


I don’t know about you guys but I have a huge TBR, and it makes things crazy because I can never pick a book to read. I have a shelf that I like to call ‘Can’t Wait to Read and Lose My Pants’, this is the shelf with books that are waiting to just get my pants off. It makes things a little simpler because that list is top priority.

So January has had some awesome releases, with books by some really great authors. I am letting you know my top picks that I can’t wait to read. I have two books from my ‘can’t wait to read and cause a pants losing’ shelf. Also a list of books I just recently purchased (as if I need any freaking more).




My Most Anticipated Pants Losing
Blacker Than Black

When I think of what awesomeness is made of, this book comes to my mind. I am just dying to read it and praying to the book gods that I love it. This one sounds and looks dangerously intense, and its a new release (check it out)!!!

My Top Pick January Releases!!!


Those are three books that were released in January that I will be reading sometime (hopefully soon).


Can't Wait to Read and Lose My Pants





Warrior's Cross has been on my TBR foreverr.... and I am thinking its about damn effing time I read it.

Cinder is the sequel to Cake (which I freaking love ) and I am not jumping ahead by saying that this one will be a guaranteed pants losing for me.

My Recent Purchases



I am off to do some serious reading now! Let me know what books will be causing a pants losing for you? Cheers folks.

Monday, January 23, 2012

The Stuff Jayden Says!!


My son Jayden is five and will be turning six in June. He is somewhat of a character and he says the funniest things (at least to me). I think that’s the case with all kids, they just say crazy stuff and have you thinking ‘where the hell did you come up with that’. This is the case with Jayden. I often wonder at times what he is thinking and how is brain is working, but its hard to understand that of a young boy.

I don’t want to say that I am different kind of parent, because each parent has their own style. I do try to let him keep his individualism, and I am not afraid to talk to him. If he asks a question, I try to find the best possible way to explain it so he understands. Believe me folks he asks the craziest questions, sometimes they are just too outrageous and I lose myself for a moment.

So I thought I would share how we interact sometimes, and those moments are my best moments. He makes me laugh like no other.

Jayden on the Movie Skyline!

I don’t know if any of you folks have ever watched the movie Skyline? It’s a sci-fi end of days kind of flick. Jayden is obsessed with those kinds of films. Things blowing up, the world ending and destruction all over the land. So I was a little surprised when he refused to watch Skyline. Here is why….

Jayden “Mommy? I can’t watch this”

Me “why Jayden?”

Jayden “Its like Cloverfield and War of the Worlds!”

Me  O_o

Jayden “ The alien has three legs like War of the Worlds and it has long hand things like Cloverfield”



I am up to this point really enjoying Skyline (surprising even to me)

Me “ Fine! You don’t have to watch it”

Jayden “ Mommy, you shouldn’t watch it any more either because Jesus can’t like this movie”

Me ??????


I laughed so hard because his little face was so serious. So you heard it here folks, don’t watch Skyline because my son says Jesus can’t like that movie.

Jayden on Ipod Messaging

Me “Jayden who are you trying to message”

Jayden “ A Tsunami”

“I don’t think you can do that”

Jayden “I don’t know about you but I can”


This is the movie that Jesus can't like!


Chinese New Year & Asian Hotties!!

The Year of the Dragon


Happy Chinese New Year folks, and I hope you all are having a good Monday. I know Mondays blow, because its back to work and school and all that non-fun stuff. I am hoping I can put a smile on your face and bring the fun with a list of my favourite books featuring Asian characters.

I am kind of obsessed with Asian cultures, its all so fascinating and diverse. I think they are a beautiful people, rich with history and customs. So like they would say "Kung Hei Fat Choi" wishing you peace and prosperity and lots of Chinese food.




Drawn Together
I have told this story before, but Drawn Together was the very first M/M book I read and I was hooked after that. This book features Yamane a Japanese manga artist who meets and falls in loves with Rory, a good ole boy from the south.

I love thats its an interracial love story, thats always gets me. Plus the writing is fun and crisp, because Z.A Maxfield is one of the best.  A fan of M/M already or never read one before I recommend DT. Its freaking awesome.




No Good Deed


This book features one of my favourite characters of all time. Daniel is Chinese cop in a small town, he's bi-sexual, suicidal, and hilarious. There is a lot of angst in this book, and it deals with some very hard hitting issues.

No Good Deed is a nice choice for those new to the M/M genre the plot is intense but the relationship between the men is a slow progression. Seriously though, Daniel is fecking awesmazing and its another interracial love.



Yakuza Pride
 
Yakuza Pride is awesome and sexy as feck. All illegalities and hot man love. This one contains some beautiful descriptions of tats that have me losing my pants. An interracial love that comes with some serious problems. It rocks my socks!








ePistols at Dawn


This book has the very sexy Jae-sun, he's only half Asian but the sexy is still there. The long hair and beautiful skin (yum,yum) and all that fuuny. This books is a winner.










Now folks its time for the sexy. I can't believe at one point in my life I thought Asian men weren't attractive (what crack was I smoking). I have realized my mistakes and I feel horrible for it (there's a story). So folks I leave you with a collage of hottness, that will cause fireworks in your pants.

Happy Chinese New Year


Sunday, January 22, 2012

What's Happening This Week

I think this week is gonna be my craziest week yet. By crazy I mean I actually did some planning and stuff. Though, before I begin with my ranting and raving. I wanna give a big shout out to my new followers *SHOUT*, thanks for being a part of Pants Off and I hope to keep you interested.

So this week I am bringing back the old and introducing the new and all that jazz. I want Pants Off to be a blog that evolves and not just reviews books, because let me tell you a secret *whispering* "sometimes I don't wanna review". Yes take that world and go! I want to do other things on here and I want you to lose your pants to all kinds of various dirty things. So my friends here's whats causing a pants losing this week.

Monday- It's Chinese New Year and for those who might know this and for others who don't. I freaking love Asians, need the proof Check Here.  So in honour of this celebration I am talking about my fave Asian characters and books and all the things I love about Asians.


I am gonna do a little post called 'Jayden Says' because my son says the craziest things. He's five and he is an original, there is no one like him and he makes me laugh like no other. So I will be sharing the funiest things he said during the previous week ( they are freaking hilarious)


Tuesday- I am listing the upcuming books that I really want to read, or books that has just captured my interest or is placed on my Can't Wait to Read and Lose My Pants TBR.

I discuseed Author Week here and now I have all five authors and I will be placing up the poll up, and I need your help. So vote guys and help me pick my first author of the week.


Wednesday- It's Yaoi Time!! You, Me & Yaoi book is Affair by Shiuko Kano.

Thursday- I have an Author interview folks. My very first and its fantstic and I will keep the author as a surprise so stop by.

Friday- I am bringing it back! Fan-fiction Friday (older posts).


Review- Tailor Made by Josephine Myles ( my author crush)




Because Lee Joon makes me wanna break down in beautiful tears.
Have a happy and safe week folks! Don't forget to enter the for the Shamless Blog Hop prizes here! Keep it dirty folks ^_^

Friday, January 20, 2012

Something Different by S.A Reid

Something Different by S.A Reid
Self-Published
Novella: 33,000 words
Rating: 4 out of 5


Blurb:
Tired of his life's endless grind, family man Michael Maguire allows himself one night of deviation. Desperate for something different, he seeks a prostitute in notorious Brixton Park. But Michael, searching for a girl out of PRETTY WOMAN, instead finds blue-eyed, beautiful James Campbell. 

Tempted and stirred in ways he never imagined, Michael embarks on a sexual adventure with a rent boy from London's infamous Bethnal Green. And what begins as a purely sexual exchange gradually transforms into something else, as James finds himself in desperate circumstances and Michael is moved to help. Drawn increasingly to James, Michael finds himself facing up to the iniquities in his daily life. And finally he must deal with a horror that threatens to explode Michael's safe, conventional existence.

Review:
Michael is tired of his boring life, his easily predictable life. He hardly gets along with his wife; she just spends her time bossing him around. He never does anything out of the norm, until he decides that he’s going to find a prostitute. Michael has never cheated on his wife before but there is something inside of him wanting to rebel. A conversation with a friend leads him to the decision that’s he’s heading to Brixton Park and getting some lady goods.

In Michael’s mind, he’s picturing the movie Pretty Woman, until realization hits. He might just be going into something he’s clearly not ready for, while contemplating his next move on a park bench he’s approached by a young man. Clearly, a man wasn’t a part of his plan but Michael can’t deny he finds the boy beautiful. A little flirting with James and they head to a hotel for a little play (and yeh Michael is not gay) or so he thinks.

James is a prostitute of circumstance. He gets no enjoyment from it; he fakes his way through it all. He thinks Michael will be sucker to con, sweet talk him and take his money. Alternatively, that’s the way he wanted it to go but Michael sees him. Calls him out on all his fake and expects nothing from him. They are an odd pair, and something deeper feelings develop surpassing what it was before. A man and his trick.

The story is hardly a Cinderella tale. James is a broken young man, sexually abused as a child and it has led him down some dark roads. He feels worthless and he hates himself. The only things he feels he is good at is being on his back and sometimes he even sucks at that. Michael is sweet and naïve character, but I find him sweet and just so darn optimistic.

Yes, there is cheating, and some highly questionable scenes but I still really liked this book. The writing is fun and the author took some chances, which really worked with the overall tone of the story.  I listed this book as one of my faves for 2012 so far, and it’s because it's just freaking fun. Some readers might not agree with the content, but I can understand it. Some folks are victims of their circumstance, sometimes there are loveless marriages, and sometimes you gotta risk it all for love. I am now a fan of S.A Reid and I look forward to her other books.



4 Pants Off
SideNote- Devoured this book in a matter of a few hours!

A Year Of Firsts- First book by author S.A Reid



*book provided by author*

Giveaway: Shameless Giveaway Hop

Shamelessly Giving Away Stuff

Thanks to Brie over at (Romance Around the Corner), Jen over at (Red Hot Books) and Michelle at Michelle's Book Blog for hosting the hop. So... I am shamelessly giving away stuff, it's easy to enter and here is how you do it.

1) Must be 18 or older
2) The Giveaway is International
3) Be sure to check out all the other participants for great prizes (Go Here)
4) Enter all your info in the linky below 

Prize #1: PDF Copy of The Forester
(It's Menage Hot)
Prize #2: An ecopy of a book by the Auhtor (winner's Choice)
*Do you see the big hint I am giving*

Prize #3: $15 Amazon Gift Card

There will be 2 winners! 1st Prize is the $15 Gift Card, and and 2nd Prize is for the books. 

My Dude: The Gorgeous Andrej Pejic



Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, January 19, 2012

ARC: The Heart's Greater Silence by Anne Brooke

The Heart's Greater Silence by Anne Brooke
Riptide Publishing
Short Story: 31pages
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Mark isn’t sure he believes in love, especially when he’s torn between two very different men: his reliable boyfriend, Craig, and his illicit lover and priest, Richard.

Mark knows what he should do, but he can’t bring himself to give Richard up. The sex with Richard is unlike anything he’s ever known with Craig, and he hungers for it as much as—if not more than—the truer intimacy he finds in his boyfriend’s arms.

When Craig discovers his betrayal, Mark is forced to look at his life more closely, but the path to self-knowledge is never an easy one. Richard seeks the way back to God, but Mark finds no solace there. Can he ever discover the truth of his own soul, or is he too afraid of what he will—or won’t—find inside his heart?


Review: 
Mark has just been dumped by his boyfriend to be expected when he was caught cheating. Mark is broken and sad because he loves his boyfriend Craig, and he’s hoping that they can just move on from it. He’s been having the best of both worlds, the love and security of Craig and the hot carnal lust of Richard the man he’s been having an affair with. When both his worlds collide, he’s left in shock but he can’t deny that he wants both.

With Richard, the sex is hot and nobody does it better. With Craig, he has someone to do boyfriend things with, and most importantly, he can present him to the world. Richard is a man of god, and Mark will always be his piece on the side both figuratively and in actuality. When you’re caught between two men, the outcome is never positive.

It’s easy to call Mark a cheating bastard and say he got what he deserved. I honestly feel very sad for him. He’s in love with the idea of loving Craig, because its safe and he’s dependable. Though it’s Richard, I feel he really wants, but he’s grown accustomed to the situation. He’s his dirty little secret, his quick f*ck outside when the weathers nice. When it all ends, he puts on his collar and goes back to what he loves the most, being a priest. I feel that Mark both accepts it and loathes it and so he found someone who created a balance for him. It’s a sad situation for all three men, but I feel it's sadder for Mark. Richard will ask for forgiveness from his god and move on, and Craig might find solace and love from his family and friends. Mr Mark though is left with nothing.

My first time reading anything by Anne Brooke and folks it won't be my last. I always talk about short stories being worthy of novel praises and this story is one of them. Anne Brooke is an excellent writer with a gift to portray emotions on pages. Sometimes we don’t always get what we want, and we leave behind the things that we need. That being ruled by lust and desires can be nice but when the desire is sated, all that is left is emptiness. This story with a just a few pages was able to share that with me the reader, and if that isn't excellent writing? I don't what is!


I hope to read about Mark again because I feel that he deserves his happy ending, finding that one person whom he both wants and needs.

4 1/2 Pants Off


A Year of Firsts- First book by author Anne Brooke








 *book provided by publisher*