Friday, August 31, 2012

Review: August Ice by Dev Bentham

August Ice by Dev Bentham
Loose-Id
Novella: 128pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
It takes a special kind of person to work in Antarctica. Max Conway, an ex-Navy Seal, loves working at the bottom of the world. Like any other diver, he's tough and hard drinking. Half the year he's stuck in the States traveling the commercial dive circuit and hitting gay bars every night. The other six months he's lead safety diver at McMurdo Station in Antarctica, reveling in the cold blue Antarctic Sea. The only drawback to life way down under is that Max feels like he has to tuck his libido into storage while he's on station, stashing all those free condoms for use back up north.

That is until Andre Dubois, a gorgeous French scientist, shakes up his world. Not only is Andre out and proud, he's sober as the day is long. And the days are long during an Antarctic summer. Max must choose between his comfortable inebriated closet and a life in the sun with Andre.


Review:
Antarctica is a setting you don’t read about often in books so I was on it like white on rice. There is something about that frozen tundra that appeals, all that ice, below freezing temperatures, and that no man can conquer it. August Ice really managed to capture all that, but there was a lot within the story that didn’t quite settle well with me.

Max Conway is a safety diver in Antarctica and Ex-Navy Seal extraordinaire. He loves his job up in Antarctica and looks forward to returning every time he goes on break. When he isn’t missing the cold of the ocean, he gets hella drunk and gets lots of sex in to make up for his dry spell once he returns to camp. It’s no surprise when he wakes up hungover with a gorgeous stranger looking him over. Max cannot remember the previous night, and Mr. sexy isn’t sharing.

Max runs into his sexy stranger from his drunken one night stint when he returns to Antarctica. Andre is a scientist and he isn’t exactly delighted to see the drunk from that night. He’s also the diving instructor so they will be spending a good amount of time together. All this is told from Max’s POV and his personality is not one the reader will instantly fall in love with. It’s as obvious as the cold that Max is a drunk and a drunk never believes he has a problem. The story develops into Max’s downward spiral with the bottle and his no care attitude.

I really enjoyed that the author spent the time to share how hard and crazy living out in the cold could be. I have decided that you have to be made of strong stuff survive and thrive in the land of ice and snow. I can also understand needing the escapism, which can be found through drinking, but it’s also contradictory. Alcohol makes you lose your wits, and keeping alert I am guessing is very important out there. There are some things that take place i that did not settle well in my heart, and it really took away from me enjoying the book. Without giving much away, I am no fan of drugs and I don’t like it even if it’s taken in a safe environment. I did not enjoy the outcome of it, and I did not like how it was somehow made into Max’s fault. It could have gone bad regardless and Max could have ended up the one hurt.  I found that part unnecessary and really emphasized how effed these characters are.

I found the lack of page time between Andre and Max disappointing, and so I can’t call this a sweeping romance. Max’s drinking problem really overshadows everything else that was going on. Their relationship was side dish amongst many side dishes. It’s for that reason I can’t really say if I enjoyed Andre, yes I am intrigued but I did not really get enough of him to draw a conclusion. I liked Max but he really made it hard for me. I could sympathise with him and I did feel like he was trying but his drinking contributed to his douchebaggery. In the end I wanted the best for him, and I am happy he found some peace with Andre.

I liked the writing, but feel like something needed to be fleshed out a bit more. Would love to read about the characters again just to see how life has changed for them. I was expecting to like this one more, but overall it was an enjoyable read.


3.5 Pants Off

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Review: Aliens, Smith, and Jones by Blaine D Arden

Aliens, Smith, and Jones by Blaine D. Arden
Storm Moon Press
Novel: 200pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Connor Smith works for Primrose, an organization tasked with monitoring and tracking aliens and alien technology. It's a job that doesn't know the meaning of "nine-to-five". It also doesn't leave much room for a social life, a complication that Connor hasn't minded, until now. At the prodding of his best friend, Connor reluctantly puts himself back in the dating pool, even though it means lying about his remarkable life.

Elsewhere, Noah Jones has led a remarkable life of his own. Stranded on Earth in 1648, Noah was forced to transform himself permanently into human form to survive. He soon learned that in doing so, he'd become effectively immortal, aging only at a glacial pace. Alone, with no way to contact his people or return home, Noah becomes a silent observer of human civilization -- always in the world, but never of the world. Then, hundreds of years later, he sees a face in a crowd and instantly feels a connection that he thought he'd never feel again. But he's too late: Connor's already taken.

Destiny is not without a sense of humor, though, and the two men are pulled inexorably closer, snared by the same web of dangers and conspiracies. Worse, Primrose is now aware of Noah, and they aren't ones to leave an alien unrestrained. So while Connor struggles to understand the strange pull he feels toward Noah, forces without as well as within are working against them to keep them apart.


Review:
I have yet to be disappointed by something Blaine has written. I loved her short stories so I was overjoyed when I found out about a full-length book. On the upside, I really enjoyed reading this book; on the downside, it frustrated the crap out of me.

Conner Smith is an agent at Primrose an organization that hunts and keeps track of Aliens or alien artefacts. Connor is a busy little bee with no time for a social/love life. That doesn’t mean his best-friend Isa isn’t always trying to hook him up, and she isn’t exactly good at it. Until there was Jason, finally Isa gets it right and sets Connor up with guy of his dreams. Jason is perfect, Jason is awesome, and I was waiting for Jason to start laying golden eggs. Connor now has both a successful career and relationship.

If only there wasn’t that niggling sensation of being stalked and as if someone is trying to get to the deepest part of his mind.  To say that Connor has a lot on his plate is understatement.  Noah is over 300 years old and he’s just found his source for energy but it’s a bummer cus he’s got a boyfriend, and works for an alien prevention/extraction organization. When Connor has had enough of the stalking and the mind exploring he takes the situation to the big boss and in no time their reigning Noah in. Noah makes a choice to come clean and lay all his cards on table, it’s up to the agents at Primrose to believe him or not.

The story then becomes so obvious that it was driving me crazy. There is some crazy involving Noah, the evidence was just staring everyone Connor in the face, and his lust-filled brain just could not see it. I wasn’t sure about him being good at his job, when he couldn’t see the simple things. I am epically frustrated by the small amount of page time that Connor and Noah shared, and when they were together, I wanted to reach into the pages and kick the crap out of Connor. He frustrates me.

I am in love with the writing, Ms Arden is one of the few authors able to grip me and have me reading at 3 in the morning cursing and throwing a tantrum like a 2 year old, (you should have seen in it). I don’t want to say the book reminds me of the Men In Black but it seriously does. Even the very common last names of the main characters in their extraordinary lives ring true of the MIB. It’s a fast-paced novel, with a plot, I did not necessarily enjoy but it came together brilliantly.

This would make a fantastic series filled with awesomeness, and I would love to read about Connor and Noah again. Connor has some redeeming to do because I still at this very moment would like to go all Bruce Lee on his ass. Due to the lack of a romantic relationship between Noah and Connor my ire for him is strong, he remained that guy who went on about how perfect Jason was (I am not down with that). He comes off as naïve and I can’t believe in his integrity on the job, I just wasn’t buying the serious agent role.

Overall, I liked the book, the world building is quite good, and there are some fascinating characters. I love the whole alien hunters, and I really liked Noah. I am just being all pouty face cus I wanna tell Connor to ‘Suck It!

4 Pants Off

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Guest Post: Characters I Can Cosplay by Augusta Li

Some writers prefer not to describe their characters too much. They give their readers a few details and let the reader's mind fill in the rest. I am apparently the opposite kind of writer, as I'm sure my editors can attest to. I delight in envisioning my characters down to every tiny detail, even things like the flecks of color in their eyes, the specifics of their jewelry, the features of their clothing, and their gestures. Small mannerisms can give great insights into character. I could probably go on and on for pages about the look of my characters, but luckily I have great editors who stop me from dragging my plot down or boring my readers to death.

I tend to write characters with a unique appearance. To be honest, it's just more fun. Growing up and marveling at the beauty of manga and anime, the tiny details of the characters' costumes and the particulars of their shiny strands of hair, I developed something of a respect for minutiae. I admit I'm fond of unnatural hair colors and often write characters with blue, green, or silver hair. This isn't to say the characters are effeminate or shallow. Some of them are a bit vain, but they're fantasy characters and have their eccentricities.

I can't lie. I like to write characters that will be fun to cosplay someday. My fondest dream as a creator is to become well known and liked enough that people will want to cosplay all my characters. Until that great moment comes, I can continue to dress up as them myself. It's just so much more fun to cosplay a ninja-mage in fancy leather armor with lots of buckles than a guy who works in a bank.

Appearance can say a lot about a character's personality. In my newest novella, The Brush Whistler's Song, one of my protagonists, Naja, is one of the last members of an ancient, magical race. His people valued art, beauty, and all kinds of earthly pleasures. To express this decadence, Naja wears his hair very long and decorated with beads, braids, gemstones and ribbons. He wears long, elaborate earrings and other jewelry. His clothes are gauzy, delicate, and very fancy. He's a character that, as soon as anyone sees him, obviously doesn't have to do any work and has plenty of time and wealth to spend on his appearance:
Arjin had tried to prepare himself for any number of horrors, but he hadn’t been anticipating what met his eyes: a human face, angular, with a strong, square chin, smooth forehead, high cheekbones, full, defined lips, and a straight, narrow nose. Only the Ansari’s slender, black horns, curving toward the back of his head, betrayed his hated heritage. He looked older than Arjin’s eighteen summers, but only just. Half a dozen earrings dangled from each of his ears, and the gems and delicate chains rattled softly when he canted his head.

“I see you’re not trained,” he said, as if he observed the weather.

“Trained?” Arjin echoed, confused. He was, in fact, trained in many things. The High Cleric had seen to it since he’d been a small boy, hiring any necessary experts. Arjin could cross a room in perfect silence, scale a castle wall, pick a complex lock, and steal from a man’s trouser pocket without detection. He knew how to set traps and make poisons. He was adept with a sword, a dagger, a staff, and a bow. He could also improvise when no weapon was available.

The Ansari swept his hair back, making the hundreds of beads and gold embellishments jingle. “They’ve outfitted you in a fair semblance to the old traditions of my people, but if they’d trained you in our ways you would have knelt at my feet when we reached this room.”

Had the clerics hid this from him, thinking Arjin might refuse his task if he knew what he had to subject himself to? They knew of, and often complained about, his fierce pride. He couldn't accept that they'd put him at risk by denying him information. His tutors had told him everything about his mark, and Arjin had memorized every detail.

Arjin stiffened. The clerics had told him to do whatever pleased the Ansari, but they couldn’t expect him to crouch on the floor like an animal, could they? They would have prepared him for it if it was expected. Arjin wondered if the Ansari lied in an attempt to see what Arjin would accept. He wouldn't accept this. He made no move to comply.

“How tiresome.” The Ansari sounded more apathetic than defeated. “I suppose we’ll get on with this.” He reached a long-fingered hand toward the first layer of Arjin’s veils, rubbed the shimmering cloth between his thumb and finger, and brushed it back over Arjin’s head. With each stratum of silk that fell away, Arjin saw the Ansari more clearly. Its skin was several shades lighter than Arjin’s summer bronze, and much smoother, lacking the fine lines around his eyes and at the edges of his lips. He had thick eyelashes but slender, black brows. Arjin knew he had to resist the temptation to see the Ansari as human. He couldn’t allow himself to sympathize with it for even a heartbeat. As the Ansari slowly undressed him, he focused on the differences: those graceful, ebony horns, large, scarlet irises, and the obscene amount of jewelry draping its forehead, neck, fingers and slender wrists. Arjin shuddered; no virtuous being possessed such a shade of eyes.
Tell me that wouldn't be a fun cosplay! It makes me want to get out my sewing machine and rifle through my collection of wigs and colored contacts.

As readers, how do you feel about character description? Do you like to know every detail about a character's appearance? Does it help you picture him as you read? Or do you prefer to let your imagination tailor the character to your fantasies? Let me know in the comments!



The Brush Whistler’s Song -- Now Available from Storm Moon Press for just $2.99!

Books by Eon and Gus: http://www.booksbyeonandgus.com/

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Review: Scavengers: August by K.A Merikan

Scavengers: August by K.A Merikan
Acerbi & Villani 
Short Story
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
In 1887, history changed course. A new Plague turned the infected into flesh-eating monsters and bound the population to overcrowded cities. The rapid advance in technology creates opportunities for the rich, but also helps to spread new social ideas which challenge traditional Victorian morality.

In July of 1893, James Hurst, a perfect English gentleman, had retrieved a treasure that would secure the financial future of his family, got scarred by a zombie and lost his virginity to Ira Russell, the treasure hunter he hired. It seemed to be a match made in heaven but back in London, the harsh reality of having a wife and child came crashing into his new found infatuation.

A month later, James’ life has returned to normal, but the recent past is there to haunt him. His newly acquired wealth makes him very interesting to a lady he works with but her agenda might be more political than financial. She seems to support a new mysterious cult – The Witnesses of the Apocalypse.

James and Ira meet again in the most unlikely circumstances and this time, it isn’t as easy to let go. Deciding to risk it all, James finds Ira’s house, but who is the beautiful young man who greets him at the door?

WARNING: Contains graphic m/m sex scenes, gore, zombies, violence, angst, BDSM, lots of deliciously dirty talk and a confident, tattooed ex-sailor.


Review:
I am surprised by how much I am enjoying this series. There is nothing gripping about the plot and there really isn’t anything fantastic going on but it is freaking entertaining.

It’s one month later and James Hurst is living it up as a wealthy aristocrat after retrieving the treasure from his family home. He could not have landed the treasure without the help of ex-sailor turned treasure hunter (and other things) Ira Russell. The men shared a sexy interlude, and James then found himself being bent over and being called Boy. Experience with a man is something he had longed for, but of course its immoral and wrong and all that.

Now, James has not seen Ira in a month and he’s longing for him after his body had such a wonderful taste of carnal delights. Because of his newfound wealth, James has to be out doing important things, and he’s garnered unwanted attention. However, being important has led him right back to Ira, and now that he has him back, he’s sure that he won’t be able to give him up.

With all this romance and feeling going on, the reader never forgets that there are zombies and crazy people. There’s always crazies driven by some god to do some crazy and try to justify it (sorta sounds like the life we live in now). There is a bit of drama thrown in to keep the story from being completely pointless. I like it for the man love >.<  I love the whole “I want you but I shouldn’t, and this so wrong I’m gonna burn in hell” Makes for good reading.

I am all in to see what happens in Scavengers: September, some drama is about to unfold and I can’t wait to read it. Bring it on!


4 Pants Off

Monday, August 27, 2012

Review: Blind Devotion by MD Grimm

Reviewed by Fehu
Blind Devotion (Shifters #3) by M.D Grimm
Dreamspinner Press
Novella
3 Pants Off

Blurb:
In Haven, Montana, the shifters and their human allies are safe—for now. But that safety hinges on the town’s location remaining a secret, and it’s about to be compromised.

Cougar shifter Travis Kuger spent the past ten years alternating between craving revenge and wishing he could forget his painful past. Ever since the shifter-hating Knights blinded him and killed his family, Haven—and Sheriff Jack Ulger—have been Travis’s refuge.

Travis and Jack know their friendship could be much more, but Jack is part of Haven’s ruling wolf shifter pack. If he takes a non-wolf mate, he’ll be banished forever. But when one of the Knights infiltrates Haven, love becomes the least of their problems.



Review:
Blind Devotion is the third book in the Shifter series, it can be read as a stand-alone, which I did and while I missed some information, it was not relevant to my understanding of the story.

Travis, a now blind cougar shifter, watched his family being butchered by the Knights; he managed to escape but lost his sight. He came to the shifter town Haven in search of help and healing but decided to stay and let the past rest, he finds new friends and learns to live with his blindness. The reader just has the first scene on the bus and the information about Travis’s reasons for coming to Haven, and then it’s a six-year forward leap.

I have to say I really missed these six years, his adaptation into the town community happens in that time. Also, there is his relationship with the wolf shifter, Sheriff Jack, Travis’s friend and love interest. Their relationship happened in that time and the reader, gets that information in only a few short sentences.

While Travis and Jack try to take their relationship to the next level, they both know Jack’s pack will not approve of a non-wolf mate for Jack. Jack’s pack is pretty prejudiced about cross species relationships, at least that is what the reader is told and the way Jack’s brother reacts confirms that.

Travis and Jack might have encountered a lot more opposition if not for a threat to the town, by the people, that killed Travis parents - the Knights. One of their spies has come into town to gather information about shifters and the town security. The Knights have special abilities, like telepathy but they are not the only one. Jack’s father calls in the Agency, which protects shifters, and their members possess the same abilities as the Knights.

The fight, all the information about the Agency and the action-adventure story is interesting but I couldn’t connect to the characters. The writing is clean and the reader is told what happened, but I missed experiencing it. This is also because of those six missing years. We are told Travis and Jack love each other and yes they act protective of each other but I missed how their relationship happened, it was just there and that’s it. Those six missing years really makes the story fall short.

3 Pants Off

Review: Growing Pains by SL Danielson & Julie Lynn Hayes

Growing Pains (Southern Comfort #2) by S.L Danielson & Julie Lynn Hayes
No Boundaries Press
Novel: 209pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Trouble is growing in paradise, as Mark moves away from Blake and toward Todd. How can love survive when fear gets in the way? Things get complicated as Todd encourages Mark to spend time with him, behind Blake’s back. It’s a good thing Blake has Clay to fall back on, to be his rock as Mark slips away from him. The tale of the tape is going to be the Homecoming Dance. But first there’s the matter of the class rings…

Nothing is easy and nothing is written in stone… not even love.





Review:
Oh Emm Gee, the drama. Growing Pains is the sequel to It Started With a Dare, and Mark and Blake have whole set of issues to deal with. Issues I believe they created all on their own and annoyed living the crap out of me. For a recap, you can check my review for the first book in the series.

Mark and Blake are relatively happy with each other but with the summer, being over their time together will become limited. The boys make new friends, battle jealousy, and realize that their love might not be forever. Talk about shaking their foundation. Mark has rekindled a friendship Blake doesn’t exactly approve of, and Blake is hanging with a new kid that puts the douche-in-bag. It’s like a drama unfolding.

I really enjoyed this one it kept me all riled. I loved that the boys’ relationship is not perfect. Their young, and their reactions and handling of situations prove their youth. I am somewhat annoyed with Blake in trying to force Mark to come out. I don’t think he grasps that it’s a truly personal decision and sometimes a person just cannot or isn’t ready. That part of the story really irked me.

The writing was a bit off in certain scenes, and I found myself having to double check to see if I made mistakes.  For instance, Mark’s friend Todd talks about his drunkard father about how mean and abusive he is. Then later says that Mark can stay with him because his parents are cool. Sorry to say papa does not sound all that cool. It’s very contradictory.

I really did enjoy reading this one, there is so much drama and I freaking loved it. I am excited to see how the authors will work out the doom that was the end of this book. Whom will the boys choose? Who else is going to come in and stir the pot? Man… I cannot wait to find out.

3.5 Pants Off

Sunday, August 26, 2012

What's Happening This Week!

Howdy folks! Another week has gone by, and in another the kids go back to school \o/ I am so happy it's that time of the year, my son has been driving me nuts. So hell yes to BTS!!

I am having an Asian themed dinner tonight, with lots of side dishes. Will be trying my hand at making Char Siu, Bulgogi, Honey Chicken, and some spicy Thai noodles (mouth salivating). I am feeling especially busy. So with all my cooking, there is still awesome reading going down and some great reviews this week. We also have an awesome guest post, just a great week all round.

Announcement

  • Pants Off is still looking for new reviewers! I am pretty lenient, I only ask for 1-2 reviews a week or 1-2 reviews every 2weeks. If you are honest and love to express yourself in a fun snarky way, then Pants Off is looking for you. Hit me up pantsoffreviews@live.ca

Here's what's causing a pants losing this week

Monday: Review- Growing Pains by S.L Danielson & Julie Lynn Hayes (Gawd the drama)
  • Review- Blind Devotion by MD Grimm (Fehu)


Tuesday: Review: Scavengers: August by K.A Merikan


Wendesday: Guest Post (The Brush Whistlers Song) by Augusta Li



Thursday: Review- Aliens, Smith, and Jones by Blaine D. Ardern (I both love and loathe this)


Friday: Review- August Ice by Dev Bentham


~Have A Great Week Everyone~

Friday, August 24, 2012

Review: Fraternal Devotion

Fraternal Devotion by D.K Jernigan, Alisha Steele, Leigh Wilder, Azalea Moone, and K.Piet/S.L Armstrong
Storm Moon Press
Novella: 143pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
When you pit knowledge against emotions, there's the no-man's land in between those two opposing forces where taboos lie. Incest is one of the untouchables, a taboo that even in alternative cultures is often still looked on negatively. But how can something that feels so right be wrong? In Fraternal Devotion, the focus is on brotherly love--in every sense of the word. These are tales of love, lust, devotion, and passion as real as any other romance. Why should the fact that the two men are brothers take away from that? This collection may challenge your assumptions and beliefs, but may also melt your heart. Not to mention steam up your glasses.

Keith is a Humanist Corpsman, sworn to protect society from the mutated ranks of the Infected. When his own team betrays him, however, it's his long lost brother, Riley, who takes him in and makes him choose between War and Peace and Brotherhood. After nineteen months apart, Brandon Patrell, of Analgesia, is convinced it will take more than a home renovation to keep his playboy brother, Ethan, from running away again. But as Ethan resumes his old mind-games, Brandon is determined to tease back for once, even if it means risking everything in a game of all or nothing. A dozen years after discovering his father's suicide, Cale returns home and finds his older brother Derrick showing the same signs of melancholy. But as much as he wants to help his brother, he fears being sucked back into that world of Depression, Love, and Swimming Pools.

Jeremy has been On Clouds of Obsession since long ago glimpsing his brother, Matt, naked in the locker room. Years later, with Matt due to be married in a week, Jeremy takes a chance after Matt's bachelor's party that could jeopardize their relationship, not to mention the impending wedding. Songwriter Andrew lives life On the Edge, using drugs to quiet his uncertainties about his ongoing relationship with his twin, Ben. Disheartened by Andrew's empty promises, Ben begins to pull away, forcing Andrew to choose between letting go and finally finding the strength to stop running.


Review:

All the ways I have been excited to read Fraternal Devotion, and all the ways I am happy I read it. This book went to front of the line, just because I love me some bromance of the sexy kind. I gobbled it up in no time, and was slightly disappointed there weren’t a lot more stories. I Wanted Moar!!

War and Peace and Brotherhood by DK Jernigan
Keith is apart of society of fighters sworn to protect humanity from the people they call the infected. So this infection is transmitted sexually, and the form varies depending on the individual. One can become a shifter, while the other gets super speed this infection affects everyone differently. Keith is the leader of his Corps group, and they are to stop the evil infected from hurting and infecting others.

So while kicking ass and taking names, Keith longs for the brother he lost 3 years ago. Having been in love with him, Keith fears he somehow pushed him away. Now he has his family of fighters or so he thinks, their hatred runs for anything deemed different, and Keith being gay is different. He finds himself at the end of a bullet fired from the people he trusted and is saved by the last person he expected.

I liked this story, and found the world created very complex and original. I think the most fascinating part of the story is the evolution of humans and their newly achieved powers. I did not really feel the romance in this once because I felt like Keith was backed in a corner and took the most logical way out. Yes, I knew he had feelings for his brother but the overall delivery made it feel very rushed and I didn’t really believe in them. I just wanted a bit more to make it a bit more fleshy.

Analgesia by Alisha Steele
Brandon is annoyed because his older brother is back home and he is just too freaking tempting for his own good. When it comes to Ethan it’s hard to be around him without wanting him, and he doesn’t seem to know boundaries. The brothers have a history, and it’s that history that caused Ethan to run like fire was on his heels.

I loved the hell out of this one, and man did it cause severe pants losing. This story being the longest of the all stories really touched on all my naughty buttons. It really did a wonderful balance of providing their relationship as lovers but never letting the reader forget that they are brothers. They fight, argue, and constantly tease each other and it just amplifies the naughty. The writing is fantastic and provide a realistic elements in a playful manner (I liked that). Analgesia was just made of awesmazingness.


Depression, Love, and Swimming Pools by Leigh Wilder
Cale is back home for Spring Break, a home he rarely visits, a home he moved almost 400mi from. He is running from things from his childhood and being home brings it all back. Especially his brother Derrick who just lies about in the pool house. Derrick suffers from depression and other mental issues and Cale is just trying to escape it all. They like to run, and will keep on running until they start confronting their issues.

I have mixed feelings about this one, so mixed. I feel it’s too heavy hitting for such a short story and would have worked better as a novella/novel. I feel like Derrick is too broken to be making decisions, and Cale just keeps getting pushed in a corner. His decision to sleep with his brother doesn’t feel like his own and them being together just did not work for me.

On Clouds of Obsession by Azalea Moone
Jeremy has wanted his brother something fierce since he saw him naked in locker rooms at school. Obviously, he knows his feelings won’t be reciprocated but a boy can dream. Suddenly his brother Matt is engaged to be married and it’s sorta pissing him off. Jeremy finds an opportunity to feel Matt up after his bachelor’s party and he’s passed out drunk. Suddenly Matt is awake and they’re having sex “Say What”. The next morning just might be a walk of shame.

This one did not really work for me. I think the representation of both characters really turned me away from this one. One minute their hot and the next their cold. I found them indecisive and I feel as if they have no chance at making it work long term. This is one brotherly love I couldn't get down with.

On The Edge by S.L Armstrong and K. Piet
Fraternal twins Andrew and Ben have been inseparable in both life and love. They have a long sexual history, been having sexual relations since they were 14 and now its 11 years later. While Ben has admitted and accepted that, he is in love with his twin Andrew has taken the other road. He wants his brother, but the guilt and shame of that want eats away at him and so he has resorted to hard drugs to help him cope. Ben knows his brother struggles with their relationship, because he pushes him away after but he goes back every time only to face the same hurt.

This story is so hard hitting and makes it hurt. It is the most realistic of the bunch which makes it the most painful to read. It delves a little into what siblings would have to in order to live freely together. Ben and Andrew have ostracized themselves from family and friends, and you can feel how it affects the brothers. With Andrew’s fears, it’s like adding salt to a wound because it all becomes for naught.

These authors really know how to make a character hurt and bring out all your emotions. I feel sad for Andrew because I can understand his fear, shame, and guilt. Yet, I would really like to punch him in the face, 11 years is a long time not have your feelings figured out (cowardly). Ben I would dearly like to kick because he’s an enabler, and a bigger coward for keeping Andrew in drug-filled lust so he wouldn’t have to be without him. I would love to see more of these brothers because they need some fixing.

Overall, I l really enjoyed the anthology. It wasn’t just sex on pages, most of the stories offered up some solid plot with good characters and little dose of reality. Not the awesome I was expecting but I am glad with it. Though I am going on and on about plot and such, I liked it cus I love brothers doing each other ^_~.

4 Pants Off

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Review: Thief by Ava March

Thief (Brook Street #1) by Ava March
Carina Press
Novella: 112pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
London, 1822 ... It was only supposed to be one night. One night to determine once and for all if he truly preferred men. But the last thing Lord Benjamin Parker expected to find in a questionable gambling hell is a gorgeous young man who steals his heart.

It was only supposed to be a job. Cavin Fox has done it many times — select a prime mark, distract him with lust, and leave his pockets empty. Yet when Cavin slips away under the cover of darkness, the only part of Benjamin he leaves untouched is his pockets.

With a taste of his fantasies fulfilled, Benjamin wants more than one night with Cavin. But convincing the elusive young man to give them a chance proves difficult. Living with a band of thieves in the worst area of London, Cavin knows there's no place for him in a gentleman's life. Yet Benjamin isn't about to let Cavin—and love—continue to slip away from him.


Review:
I have a few of Ava March’s books on my TBR, but this is the first time I have read something by her and trust me folks it will not be my last. I have a thing for historical romance, especially in M/M. You wonder how a homosexual romance will work in 1822. The author takes a simplistic approach, which really worked for the story.

Lord Benjamin is a man on a mission. He needs one night to figure out if he is attracted to men or he’s going to begin the search for a wife. So he finds himself in a shady part of town in a in a gaming hell hoping to score some action. When he finds himself not responding to any of the males present, he calls his suspicion on his over active imagination. Seems as if he might be on the market for a wife, until his body gets all excited by a beautiful stranger.

Cavin Fox is a thief and he is out looking for prey. When his eyes land on the man in the fancy clothes, Cavin knows what the fancy looking lord is after. With the gaming hell known for its clientele of men looking to hook up with other men. He’s going to provide what he came looking for, and empty his pockets after.

The men first meeting is explosive, and chemistry is just happening all over the place. It comes as no surprise that they find themselves in a motel ready to spend the night in carnal pleasure. Benjamin is experiencing all this for the first time, and it is everything and more he hoped it would be. Cavin is a caring lover, and Ben is hoping something more can from this one night together.

Of course Cavin takes off at lightning speed without emptying Ben’s pockets. He’s cursing himself up and down but he couldn’t hurt the man when he gave him such a special night. A mix-up in clothing has Cavin seeking out Ben sooner than he hoped, but he won’t deny he’s all kinds of happy to see him.

I really enjoyed this one a lot! I liked that the story remained simple and did not offer up too much complication. Because realistically all their time together has to be done in secret without drawing unnecessary attention from anyone. I loved Benjamin’s take-charge attitude. He went out to find if he liked men, he found out and now will live his life accordingly (like a boss).

Also enjoyed that Cavin’s life, as a thief played no over the top role. By over the top, I mean that no villain from his old life tried to make his life hard. That was really refreshing and glad the author didn’t bring in a bad guy. Enjoyed Cavin and Ben together, it was super hot and caused some serious pants losing.

I am so looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

4 Pants Off

Copy provided by Netgalley.com

Review: Wake Me Up Inside by Cardeno C

Reviewed by Fehu
Wake Me Up Inside (Mates #1) by Cardeno C
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 250pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
A Mates Series Story

Zev Hassick is surprised and confused when he finds himself attracted to his best friend. His very human, very male best friend. Zev is the son of the pack Alpha, regarded as the strongest wolf in generations, born to lead. And everyone knows a male shifter has to mate with a female of his own kind to keep his humanity. So shifters can't be gay, right?

Jonah Marvel wants a relationship with Zev, his best friend, the man he has loved since childhood. It wasn’t easy to maintain that relationship over years spent living apart while Jonah studied to become a doctor. And then things grow more difficult when Jonah becomes his own patient. Before he can make a life with Zev, he has to understand his past and cure the unexplained ailments that plague him.

Zev and Jonah know they’re destined for each other, but they’re facing traditions ingrained over generations and long-buried secrets that may threaten any future together.


Review:
It’s the first paranormal book for this author and it has a new take on the shifter theme. The writing of this author is usually my guilty pleasure, because it’s a lot of fluff but it’s well done. They are like a cake, sometimes you want to indulge, you want to have something good or need something sweet after a rough day. Wake Me Up Inside is still sweet but it has some surprises in store for the reader. For one Zev is a shifter and a shifter can only mate with shifters to bind their human side, so they don’t get lost in their wolfform. This happens when they mate with a woman, since women cannot access their shifterform without a male and sex, at least that’s what all shifters are told. Therefore there cannot be gay shifters and certainly no true mate can be male, that’s what Zev’s family assures him. I was looking forward to see how Cardeno would solve this problem and was not disappointed. The world Cardeno created, is quite interesting and I’m looking forward to reading more about it and the characters and I honestly wish this book had ended differently, there are some question left open, which I hope will be addressed in the next books!

Most of the story is told from Zev’s point of view and the reader can watch how the two boy meet as small children (well child and wolf cub) and how the friendship grows and their feelings mature. Zev in his shifter form follows an enticing scent which leads him to a human child. Their time together consist of stolen moments at first, because shifters do not like to mix with humans if they don’t have to. It’s not after they start school that they can openly interact together. First they become friends and their relationship is really sweet. For example, Zev wants get to know Jonah in his human form so he brings him a leaflet for the children sports league, in his wolf form until Jonah got him and singed up. That was just cute!

I loved to see the boys mature and their relationship deepen. Of course there were problems and rough patches caused by the separation of both characters. Zev is the future Alpha so he couldn’t go to college and Jonah wanted to be a doctor so he had to go away to study, which put a strain to their relationship. At the beginning I got the wrong impression about how this book would be told and about the development in Zev and Jonah’s relationship, because Zev thought that Jonah went away for twelve years, I assumed it would be a lovers reunited story, which was not the case. Zev and Jonah saw each other over the years and stayed in touch, which the reader will know after all the discussion with Zev’s parents about him taking a mate.

This brings me right to the part I didn’t enjoy as much and that is the flashbacks, usually I don’t like them if they are not well done and used sparingly, here the whole relationship is retold in flashbacks. Only the last part is completely set in the now and this part is short and left me with a lot of questions. Also the flashbacks are unexpected and they are not introduced into the story, one moment one reads about the present then it shifts to past, though to be fair sometimes it’s a new chapter but still, no introduction and this did throw me a bit out of the story.

There are no big conflicts in this story, if there is a problem it’s solved pretty quickly so there is not exactly a lot of angst. Usually in shifter stories the Alpha is a bit overbearing, not so here, Jonah is not treated like a thing, there is no overuse of the word “mine”. Zev and Jonah’s romance is quite sweet and slow building. What I found a bit hard to believe was Zev’s naivety about sex between men, I had to laugh that he was older than 18 years and still couldn't believe about the mechanics.

I really would have enjoyed the story more if it was about the present and set in present, thought. The ending is pretty much open, because while one problem was solved, Zev and Jonah still have to meet the pack as a mated couple. I wanted to rate it higher but then I turned the page and it was the last, which made me stare at my ereader in disbelief. The ending had no closure, because mostly the story played in the past and I was looking forward to the present and that part ended abruptly, which was not satisfying.

3.5 Pants Off

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Review: Casual (Sex) Friday by Evie Kiels

Reviewed by Fehu
Casual (Sex) Friday by Evie Kiels
Less Than Three Press
Short Story: 56pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Ben is not a fan of Fridays. Every Friday Calvin asks him out, and every Friday Ben turns him down. One incredibly boring date was enough for him, and he can't figure out why Calvin won't let it go. After delivering yet another Friday brush-off, Ben retreats to the park to try to decompress from the work week.

When Calvin shows up at the park, the very last thing Ben expects is to end up spending his Friday night with a man who is suddenly anything but boring.




Review:
First of all this was not what I expected, but the story turned up quite intriguing nonetheless! I expected unrequited love, but not Ben’s kink or Calvins determination to get to know Ben.

I’m still not sure what to think of Calvin, mainly because he asked Ben out every Friday for a month! While he gets points for being persistent, that’s a bit stalkerish, especially his behavior in the park. No, I will not tell you what happens, where would be the fun in that? ;)

Ben usually brushes of the advances, because he had a really bad break up with his partner of 8 years, so one can understand that he is reticent, after being betrayed. Mostly Ben is really lonely or at least that how I see him and his ex’s betrayal had cost him a lot, like his belief in honesty of other people.

The first part of the story did not draw me in, it was confusing and I was wondering why Calvin was so set on another date with Ben. The story is told from Ben’s perspective so there are no clues to Calvin’s motivation. Also I’m not sure why Ben gave in to Calvin after their meeting in the park, where Calvin catches Ben in a compromising situation and uses this to get what he wants. The good part comes after Ben gives in and agrees to spend the weekend with Calvin, experiencing, what Calvin is all about.

Why is this book worth losing 3.5 pants?

For one, the sex scenes are seriously hot! The guys click over Ben’s kink (Ben likes to watch people have sex) and so Calvin indulges him by using a webcam and by letting Ben watch him having sex with Ben. Secondly the sex scenes are well written and not mechanical, bonus points and pants for that!

The story itself is well written and after the first part, I actually did get to know the characters more and would have liked the book to have a few more pages, to see how they fare together. While this is not a book with a lot of depth, the story and characters are entertaining.

I liked that it was not instant love, not even instant attraction. It takes Ben some time and some interference from Calvin, to give them as a potential couple a second chance. After initial reticence Ben gets to know Calvin, through his hobbies and friends. The everyday life things, people do together, are not just glossed over. At the end of the story, I could believe there was a reason why Ben and Calvin worked as a couple. Actually that is the part I liked best. The author managed to create a believable romance about everyday life on 45 pages (at least on my ereader they are 45).

3.5 Pants Off

Guest Post: Azalea Moone and "Fraternal Devotion"

I am so excited to Azalea Moone stopping by today and talking about brotherly love of the dirty kind ^_~. I loved the Fraternal Devotion anthology ==>-----------THIS MUCH--------------<== and that's a whole lot. So help me welcome Alazea as apart of the Fraternal Devotion blog tour.



Hiya, fellow Pants Off readers. Azalea Moone here to talk about my short story “On Clouds of Obsession” in the new anthology released by Storm Moon Press, Fraternal Devotion. The anthology focuses on brotherly love, a highly regarded taboo that dates back centuries.

 Let me say that when I first saw the anthology call for this, I was squirming in my seat. “Gotta write it.” Why? Even though incest, in all forms, is one of those hot button topic, I wanted to take a shot. I understand people will raise their brows. They'll hate it or love it. But as a very open minded individual, it's my belief that there's no shame in sharing love.

I already knew that throughout history there have been many famous incestuous couples, mainly heterosexual between brother and sister, father and daughter, or first cousins. Many of them were way illegal beyond the incest, though. We won't get into that.

But I'm a very curious kitty and was interested in learning more about gay incest. So, I researched after writing the story. Browsing online forums, websites, wiki, and other sites, I've found that having brother fantasies, or actual experiences, are somewhat common among men whether they are gay or straight. From the mutual jack off session to oral sex **gasps**, brothers may experiment on each other especially if they're close in age or have a close relationship.

Another interesting fact to note is that gay incest aka twincest has become a very popular kink in the gay porn industry. Several brother couples are well known and many of them have no qualms on what they will do with each other. Not sure if you've ever seen these, but damn they are hawt! Talk about close. **rawr**

So, let's get to my contemporary short story. We are introduced to Jeremy, who's had a major crush on his older brother, Matt, since high school. Although they were never really close growing up, seeing Matt in the school's locker room while getting undressed was the ultimate realization for Jeremy. From that moment on, he attempted to grab other peeks of his brother, but was always interrupted or even caught. Jeremy knows he has to keep his crush a secret; they're family, after all.

Fast forward. Now they are both in their 20s, and Matt is set to get married in a few days to someone he met in Las Vegas. Jeremy tries to persuade Matt out of it, telling him it's not a great idea to just marry someone he just met. But he fails. On top of that, Jeremy's also stuck in the realization that his brother isn't going to be 'available' anymore. But, Matt was never truly available for him, anyway. Jeremy decides that he can keep daydreaming. No one will ever figure it out, right?

Until the night of Matt's bachelor's party. After everyone has left, Jeremy just can't keep his hands to himself and is taken off guard when Matt wakes up in the middle of it.

Throughout the story, the two brothers go through a tide of emotions, from angsty disbelief of the situation to moments of complete surrender. Not only does Jeremy reveal his secret, but he learns one of Matt's biggest secrets as well.

In the end, though, learning to love each other in a lovers sort of way, different than familial love, is difficult to deal with. There's no family blessing, no understanding or coming to terms. I can imagine this is true for real couples, too. For Jeremy and Matt, their only option to be together was to move far away from the family.

In real cases, I wonder if happily ever after between brothers would be hard to come by. I believe most men would keep their fantasies a secret far into their adult lives. As this is fiction, I can't do that. I gotta make sure Jeremy and Matt have at least a happy-for-now.

The following excerpt is NSFW, but considering the nature of this blog, I don't think anyone will mind a little pants losing!
So, my brother was an ass. I knew tons of kids whose brothers beat the shit out of them, but why was I so damned infatuated with mine?

I was a sophomore in high school when I realized that I was attracted to my brother. Matt was a junior and hardly ever home; he was always out at the football field practicing with the rest of the team. I was in detention, the reason escapes me now, but I wandered into the locker room that day after his meet was over. That was the first time it hit me: my brother was fucking hot.

I had stared at him through the crack between the lockers. He threw his gear into the locker and slipped his shirt from over his head. I caught an eyeful of his muscular chest that made me as hard as a fucking rock.

Fast forward to today. He's twenty-three now, and that was still the only time I'd ever seen my brother naked. That's not to say I didn't try. Every time, however, I fell short. I had asked him to go swimming, only to have him dress in a shower stall. I also spied on him through the small keyhole in his bedroom door, only to have Dad catch me. Oh, that was a sheer disaster.

I took a sip from the bottle and let the booze sit on my tongue before swallowing.

Yes, it was all a disaster. God, I just wanted to see the way he looked after a shower again. Beads of steaming water running down his strong, tawny back. The line of fine downy hair that stretched from his sternum down to his naval. It widened there, cloaking his beautiful cock in black hair.

With my eyes closed, my free hand wandered past my belt and into my jeans to my hardened cock. Fuck, I was hard for him just like the day I watched him step out of the school shower. I wrapped my fingers tight around my length and began to stroke.



Fraternal Devotion -- Now Available from Storm Moon Press for just $6.99 (ebook)





If you are a fan of brothers loving each other up, be sure to go get yourself a copy of this book. I really enjoyed this anthology (no surprise) and look for my review on Friday.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Review: Townie and the Twink by Daisy Harris

Townie and the Twink (Men Of Holsum College #3) by Daisy Harris
Siren Publishing
Novella: 122pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Insightful to a fault, Gabe Ashton knows Nick Flynn’s gay even if Nick doesn’t. And after seeing how the townie looks at his "buddy," Gabe knows Nick is in love with a guy who’ll never love him back. So Gabe invites Nick to campus parties and to hang out with new people. But soon their friendship turns physical, and Gabe wonders if he’s in just as much denial as Nick is.

Nick’s straight—or so he’s always assumed. But he can’t deny that the things he’s doing with Gabe are hot. More than that, he likes Gabe in a way he’s never liked anyone else. Well, anyone else except his high school friend, John.

The hardest thing to give up is a fantasy, and the hardest thing to face is the truth. But if Nick wants the man standing in front of him, he’ll have to give up the one he never had.


Review:
I do believe this book is my absolute favourite so far. The plot behind this one might be a little played and over used, but I did find myself enjoying Nick and Gabe. Also, there was something very innocent and engaging about their budding friendship.

Gabe believes he can figure things out in a person long before they figure it out for themselves. That is how he knows Nick a guy from one of his classes is gay and jonesing for his best-friend. As Gabe expected Nick is in denial about his true feelings, and is totally trying to pull the straight card.

Nick has no idea what this Gabe guy wants from him, but he suddenly finds himself spending a lot more time with him. Knowing Gabe is gay doesn’t really bother him, and having him close in more than a friendship way doesn’t bother him either. So when he finds himself having sexual feelings for Gabe, Nick does not think too much about because it’s totally “not in a gay way”.

I found Townie and the Twink really interesting, and just couldn’t put it down. Gabe and Nick are fascinating; they had me thinking away from the whole gay/straight, and just the attractions that come when you truly like a person regardless of their gender. I liked Nick a lot, though sometimes his thinking was stupid it sure was entertaining. Gabe, I found sweet and my heart was breaking for him a little by the end.

Overall, I really enjoyed it, and this series is fast becoming a fave of mine. I really enjoy the uniqueness of each character; none of them so far have been alike. I look forward to reading the next book.

SideNote- I freaking dislike the cover with a passion. I would not be surprised if people avoided this story for the cover alone. It’s just so bad that I sit and stare it and think “What The Fuck” happened here?

4 Pants Off

Guest Post with M.A Church (Priceless)


Money may be able to buy a lot of things, except true love. And true love is…  


http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=3095 


Hey everyone! My name is M.A. Church, and I’ve stopped by to talk about my latest book to be released on July 25th.

Priceless is the first of three completed novellas (Priceless, Perfect and Pure) of gay male romance in which mortals, immortals and the Greco-Roman god, Cupid himself, find hot sex, overwhelming passion, and, of course, love.

So, instead of me talking about the book, I thought I’d ask the main characters Garrett and Randy—and I’m sure Cupid will chime in lol—some questions, and let them share their thoughts. :D

~So Garrett, what did you think the first time you saw Randy?

Garrett: Know that old say ‘Time stood still’? As corny as it sounds that’s exactly what happened. I was at the Palms in Las Vegas—my friend Jeff Mayfield owns the hotel/casino—playing at the craps table. I admit, I was bored out of my mind. And then I looked across the table and there he was. Time stood still. Everything went out of focus—all I saw was him and the look of innocence in his face. And I wanted him, even though I questioned what I was seeing. Life had taught me such wholesomeness didn’t exist.

Randy: He motioned me over next to him. Quite frankly, I couldn’t believe me meant me.

Garrett: *Snort* He actually looked around, then pointed at himself. I thought I was going to have to go get him.

Randy: *Laugh* Well jeez.

~Why would you think he wouldn’t mean you?

Randy: Um, have you looked at him??? Everything about him screams money even when he’s dressed in jeans and a t-shirt like now. And me? I scream average.

Garrett: *frowns* Babe…

Randy: *Rolls eyes* It’s true, and you know it. Okay, not so much now. But those two nights I spent with you in Vegas… all you did was throw money around. It made me uncomfortable.

Garrett: Yeah well, I learned my lesson.

Randy: May wonders never cease. I knew you got it though when the gifts from a Secret Admirer started showing up. You know, the simple sunflowers you sent until you spelt out your little message, and the hand-cut paper hearts showed that. They were perfect. *Puts hand in front of mouth and whispers* Even if the hearts looked like a five year old cut them.

Garrett: I heard that. Be glad they weren’t diamond encrusted or something.

Randy: Believe me, I was.

~So it was love at first sight, huh?

Randy: Maybe not at first sight, but it happened pretty quick.

Garrett: I agree. *Both look over at Cupid*

Cupid: *Throws up hands* I told you I had nothing to do with that! Really! Okay, yeah, I had intended to shoot one of you that night, but the Fates were messing with me. That’s all I’m gonna say.

~So, after those two nights, why did you run off?

Randy: I panicked, pure and simple. I figured I was nothing more than a good time, and the sheer thought of Garrett telling me it meant nothing more to him sent me out the door. I let myself fall in love with him. Then all the way back to Memphis I kicked myself for not staying, not taking a chance. Since I didn’t know Garrett’s last name I had no way to contact him. I thought I’d lost any chance of being with him—if there had even been a chance.

Garrett: That’s okay, babe. I sicced Jeff and Zygi on you. I had your name and address before I left the Palms. Just one of the advantages of being childhood friends with the owner and head of security. *Looks at M.A.* I had told Randy when I want something I let nothing get in my way… as he found out.

Randy: Thank God.

~Well, since your both sitting here together I take it things worked out in the end?

Garrett: *Grin* Now that would be telling.

Cupid: And who said this was the end, anyway? I still got some unfinished business back in Vegas. A certain hotel/casino owner laid a monster challenge on me, remember? *Winks* He’s… Perfect.

And by the way for all you out there… never tempt the Fates. You never know when they might bite you on your ass. Just saying.


Sexy Excerpt

They stepped closer and Randy’s body was as tense as a drawn bow. What would a suave, sophisticated guy do in this situation? Suave, right. Randy just hoped he didn’t make an idiot out of himself.

Randy’s breathing increased as he chewed his lip. His heart sped up as Garrett leaned into him. Would the kiss be hard and brutal, his mouth claimed by an onslaught of passion that would leave him breathless and bruised? He moaned in surprise as Garrett’s mouth sweetly moved on his.

From one heartbeat to the next, pleasure exploded in Randy’s mind. He hadn’t expected such gentleness. Throwing caution to the wind, he grasped Garrett’s hips and pulled him closer. Garrett’s tongue explored his mouth, that sinful goatee tickling his chin. When Garrett nudged his head to the side and nibbled a path down Randy’s neck, he willingly bared his throat. And moaned again when Garrett sucked hard on the tender skin near his collarbone.

Randy, squirming from the sensations, rubbed his leg up and down Garrett’s thigh. One of Garrett’s hands drifted down and lifted Randy’s leg higher, palming his ass as he kneaded the firm flesh. The electricity that jumped between them had Randy shaking.

“Garrett,” Randy gasped as Garrett found a particularly good spot, “there’s gotta be cameras in here.”

Garrett held Randy tightly for a moment, their bodies crushed together, before he released him and moved away. He mumbled under his breath about how could Randy think, much less clearly, at that moment. Randy leaned against the elevator wall, eyes closed, and tried to bring his rampaging body under control. The elevator dinged and lurched to a stop, causing Randy to stumble into Garrett.

He slid his arm around Randy to steady him and didn’t let go when the doors parted. Garrett pulled Randy toward his suite, throwing the door open. Once inside he slammed the door shut, spun Randy around, and trapped him against the back of the door. He slammed his mouth over Randy’s, picking up where he left off in the elevator until Randy was gasping for air.

“Let me be very clear,” Garrett panted into his mouth. “I want you in my bed. I want you desperate, wild, and begging.”

“I’m to the desperate phase now.” Randy trembled, trapped between him and the door. “Wild is right around the corner, and begging isn’t far behind.”

Garrett’s thumb traced over Randy’s swollen bottom lip. “That’s what I like about you, Randy, you speak your mind and don’t play games. I can’t tell you what a turn on that is for me.”

“I don’t have the first clue how to play games like you’re talking about, nor do I want to.”

“And thank God for it.” That jaded little devil on Garrett’s shoulder rolled his eyes. This guy either was very good, or very innocent. “Now, let me show you my bedroom. I can’t wait much longer to have you in my bed.”

Garrett ushered him through the living area, not giving him time to admire the softly lit main area. He opened a door to a large room that held a beautifully made bed with a sinfully black silk bedspread. The room was done in dark woods and masculine tones with paintings and photography from some extremely well-known artists. It shrieked authority, money, and power. The curtains were open, letting in the light from the city.

Garrett stepped behind Randy and turned him toward the mirrored closet. Garrett unbuttoned his shirt, parted the fabric, and placed his hands on Randy’s stomach. Taking his time, he ran his hands up Randy’s chest, dragging the pleasure out until he reached those perky nipples that begged for attention. Garrett flicked both hard peaks, making Randy arch in his arms. Then he rolled them between his thumb and forefinger as they both watched their reflection.

“So very hot,” Garrett whispered in Randy’s ear as his fingers teased the nubs until Randy moaned.

Randy reached behind him and wrapped his arm around Garrett’s neck, dragging him closer. That bulge that pressed against Randy’s ass was huge and had his imagination sitting up, tail thumping. It had been a long time since a lover affected him this way. Randy leaned his head back against Garrett’s shoulder and watched, heavy-eyed, as Garrett’s hands drifted down and undid his belt.



Blurb:
Sparks ignite when Cupid takes aim at two mortals in Las Vegas: Randy Jones, an average guy on a company vacation, looks into Garrett’s eyes at a craps table and time stands still. Throwing aside everything he believes, Randy engages in a torrid two-night affair with Garrett—only to panic when he realizes he’s fallen in love.

Cynical billionaire Garrett Shiffler has everything money can buy, and most of his dates can’t see past the dollar signs. Life has taught him that innocence and love are figments of the imagination. But when Randy disappears, taking with him feelings Garrett thought he’d never know, Garrett wages the most important battle of his life to win Randy's love—but this time he fights with his heart, not his bank account.

Meanwhile, Cupid wonders what happened. His golden arrows never fail unless the Fates interfere. If Garrett wants to win Randy back, he’s going to have to do it on his own, because the Fates have other plans for Cupid.

About The Author:
M.A. Church lives in the southern United States and spent many years in the elementary education sector. She is married to her high school sweetheart and they have two children. Her hobbies are gardening, walking, attending flea markets, watching professional football, racing, and spending time with her family on the lake.

But her most beloved hobby was reading. Even at an early age she can remember hunting for books at the library. Later nonhuman and science fiction genre’s captured her attention and drew her in the worlds the authors’ had created. But always at the back of her mind was that one day, when the kids were older and she had more time, she would write a book.

By sheer chance she stumbled across a gay male romance story on the web and was hooked. A new world opened up and she fell in love. Thus the journey started. When not writing or researching, she enjoys reading the latest erotic and mainstream romance novels.

Visit M.A. at her blog http://machurch00.blogspot.com
Twitter @nomoretears00 
Facebook: M.A. Church http://www.facebook.com/pages/MA-Chur...  
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5141393.M_A_Church 
DSP author page: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php?cPath=55_650




Monday, August 20, 2012

Review: Doubtless by Cat Grant

Doubtless by Cat Grant
Riptide Publishing
Short Story: 53pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Loving your best friend is hard . . . especially when he's marrying someone else.

On the surface, Steve Campbell seems to have it all: a beautiful home, a snazzy car, and a dream job as one of the country’s top 3-D optics researchers. But underneath, he’s restless and dissatisfied, tired of empty encounters with leggy lab assistants and endless evenings alone.

A chance meeting with a handsome escort lifts Steve’s spirits and opens his eyes to his long-repressed attraction to men—and his love for his best friend and business partner, Connor Morrison.

Connor might’ve loved Steve like that once, but now it’s too late for their happily ever after; Connor’s about to ask his boyfriend to marry him. Fortunately, it's never too late to learn about yourself, and maybe Steve can find a happy ending on his own.


Review:
Gosh, I am so darn happy that Cat Grant wrote this story; the outcome now is that Steve is one of my fave characters by the author. I was not too impressed with Priceless, but man I am in love with Doubtless. I am now in great anticipation for Steve’s story and his HEA. My pants can’t wait to be lost.

In Priceless, Steve wasn’t exactly my favourite character, he was all flashy and douche baggish all the time. As the social butterfly of the 3-D Optics world, he brought in the investments and made the money. Doubtless gives of a completely new side to his character, and his realization that he might be interested in men and totally in love with his best-friend Connor.

Only problem is Connor has the love of his life and Steve was the one to bring them together. Now he’s a got a high priced escort teaching him the way in man love and is making him realize that there is so much missing from his life.

I am so surprised by this story, and I am so glad that there was no romance and crazy sex times. I am especially surprised by Steve, he is a relatable and likable character this time around and my heart was aching for him. Under all that toothy smile exterior was a man who had no clue in what direction his life was going. Yes, he had the money to burn and all the expensive toys, but there were cracks in his shell. He had no idea who he was outside of work and that made him doubt himself; had him doubting many things.

It’s a beautiful representation of one’s discovering of their sexuality. I don’t want to say coming out because I feel he hasn’t had his coming out yet. His accepting of liking men is too fresh, too new for it to be coming out. Doubtless is the build up to Steve’s great love story, and mannnn I can’t freaking wait.

This one does not offer up a HEA, so don’t expect a sweeping romance. This is the story about a man finding his way, taking his future, and turning it into something positive. Sometimes the losses can be heartbreaking but the gains can be breathtaking and life changing. Steve fighting!!


4.5 Pants Off

Sunday, August 19, 2012

And The Winners Are...

Another Super Mega winners post, though a bit very late. These are the final winners from my blogoversary who definitely deserve their shout out. Julianna made a comment on the Dreamspinner giveaway and I realize people like to know. So I Apologize this one is so very late.


Winners



Lyra (Ana Bosch Giveaway)

Trix (Tam Ames Giveaway)

Sylvan (Andrea Speed Giveaway)

Lyra (Nessa Warin Giveaway)

JeepDiva (Katey Hawthorne Giveaway)

Dreamspinner Giveaway
Donna
Midia



The Druid Stone Giveaway 

Winner is Wulf 


~Thanks to Ana Bosch, Tam Ames, Andrea Speed, Nessa Warin, Katey Hawthorne and Dreamspinner Press. Congrats to all the winners, and a big thanks to those who entered ^_^.~

Winners picked using random.org.

What's Happening This Week!

Howdy folks! I hope you had a wonderful weekend? Yesterday was my birthday, and I had such a wonderful time with my family. I'm not much into parties and all that but they wanted to have a little something and it was nice. I ate a lot, had some ice-cream cake and I'm writing this post stuffed out of mind.

Some Updates- We have a new reviewer Fehu, and one of her reviews will be coming soon. Also I realize I haven't done a post to announce some winners from my blogoversary, so I will be doing that soon (better late than never).



Here's what's causing a pants losing this week

Monday: Review- Doubtless by Cat Grant (I enjoyed this one a whole lot)


Tuesday: Guest Post with M.A Church (talking about her new release Priceless)

  • Review- Townie and the Twink by Daisy Harris (really enjoyed this one but seriously hate the cover)


Wednesday: Guest Post for Fraternal Devotion Anthology

  • Review- Casual (Sex) Friday by Evie Kiels (reviewed by Fehu)


Thursday: Review- Thief by Ava March
  • Review- Wake Me Up Inside by Cardeno C (reviewed by Fehu)

Friday: Review- Fraternal Devotion (A Storm Moon Press Anthology) My god I had to read this quick, quick cus it's about brothers doing each other *fist pump*


~Have A Great Week Everyone~