Friday, August 30, 2013

FanFiction Friday: Take #5




So it’s been awhile since I posted about any fanfics, and I haven't read any in awhile but I do have some that I read awhile back. Usually I just go with what I'm feeling so it’s a wide variety of fics. I remember watching Avengers and getting feels, Star Trek (Abrams), and Supernatural. So get ready for a very wide range of fics.

Thorki (Loki/Thor Avengers Fandom)

Eight Months of a Century
4 Pants Off

Summary: "Six weeks ago," Loki says, when Thor remains silent. "Surely you remember."

Thoughts- A pregnant Loki, need I say more. Really enjoyed this one and it was great to see the rest of the team thrown in. Should warn you guys that Thor and Loki do get it on so if that squicks you out, then stay clear. Seriously though a pregnant Loki, he's even more prickly and sarcastic.


Spock/James (Star Trek, J.J Abrams Fandom) 

Veritas
4.5 Pants Off

Summary: Captain James T. Kirk and Lieutenant Commander Spock are hereby charged with negligence and wanton misconduct due to their emotional compromise with each other.

Thoughts- So freaking amazing!! An interesting plot, Spock and James are on par and its just freaking good. I was fully captivated for the entire story.

Destiel (Supernatural Fandom)

300 Things
4 Pants Off

Summary: Dean's life at twenty-four makes him feel like he's forty—he works two jobs to help pay bills for his house and put his genius little brother through private school, and has spent six years (on and off, let's be honest) working on his mechanical engineering degree at KU. With so much of his life devoted to his family, Dean has little time in his schedule for class and no time for social interaction. Then, while getting his classes together for the fall, he finds himself in a do-or-die situation: He must take his last literature class now, his spring already filled with those left for his major...except that none of the English classes will fit his schedule.

This is how Dean grovels and begs Dr. Castiel Milton to make a special arrangement for him, and Dr. Milton does.

Thoughts- Very cute fic with no supernatural element, enjoyed the developing relationship, and I sorta wanna go do a re-read right now.





Guest Post & Giveaway: On losing my series-writing virginity by Josephine Myles

~I am super excited to have Jo Myles on the blog today, it's always such a pleasure when she stops by. Be sure to leave a comment along with your email to win a great prize.~




Hello, my name is Jo Myles, and I’m a series writing virgin.


Oh, okay, I’m not really that innocent when it comes to the wicked allure of series. I already have a series of three short stories (The First Impressions books) and a Screwing the System short to my name, but so far, despite having been writing full-time for over two years, I don’t yet have a proper series of novels or novellas out there. That’s made me feel like a bit of an outcast among other writers in the m/m romance genre, all of whom seem to have at least one series under their belts. That’s all about to change, though, as I publish Junk, the first novel in The Bristol Collection.

First Impressions cover - 2nd editionFuzzy cover - 2nd editionLast Chance cover

First of all, though, I’d like to just make clear the difference between romance sequels and a series, as I’m using them here. To me a true sequel must pick up on the story of the main couple in the first book. In other words, you have to mess with their HEA in order to have enough conflict for another plot. To my mind, this only really works well when the first story left them at a point where their HEA was shaky, or when the romance plot is secondary to another plot, like a murder mystery. Jordan Castillo Price’s PsyCop series is an excellent example of both of these. Vic is still growing as a character, and there’s not only a new mystery in each book, but there’s also a huge amount of mysterious back-story left to unearth.


A romance series, on the other hand, is a simpler prospect. In this the books need to be linked—perhaps by setting like the Riptide Tucker Springs novels—but you can have a new cast of characters in each book. KA Mitchell is a master of this kind of series, picking up minor characters from the first book and giving their story in the next one, and I'm loving the Bad in Baltimore series in particular. I really enjoy the way this kind of series can also give us a glimpse of characters we loved from the earlier books as they now take their turn to be supporting characters in subsequent stories.



So what I’m embarking on is a series in this sense of the word. It’s something I’ve often pondered before, when minor characters have grabbed my attention and suggested they might like to have their own book. For instance, Tristan from Barging In, Dylan from The Hot Floor and Nasher from Screwing the System. So what’s stopped me so far? And just what makes Mas from Junk different?

I think what’s stopped me so far is not only the fact I have so many new ideas clamouring to be written, but it’s that I prefer series to be linked by more than simply a setting—for me the books need to have a similar theme and heat level. Tristan’s story would be a BDSM one, so it wouldn’t sit comfortably in series with Barging In, which isn’t all that kinky. I have the opposite problem when considering a follow-up to Screwing the System, as I’m not sure Nasher would really be into BDSM. And since The Hot Floor is a ménage romance, I’d want the sequel to at least contain one threesome encounter, but I’m just not sure if that would work with the partner I have in mind for Dylan.

Junk, however, doesn’t have any of these issues. Okay, so Mas’s story is turning out to be a little hotter than the first in the series (which is no bad thing, to my mind), but there are no threesomes or serious kink to contend with. And already I have ideas for the third book in the series, and am looking forward to introducing one of the characters from that one as a supporting character in Stuff.

Winter Warmers coverI do find myself wondering if the reason I have the confidence to start this series is because I’d already used two characters from another story as side characters in Junk. Brandon and Jos, Lewis’s friends, first appeared in a very kinky short story in the Winter Warmers anthology. I hadn’t planned to use them in Junk, but when I began writing a scene where Lewis went to meet his friends I realised I’d have to come up with someone both interesting and plausible as a friend of the very straight-laced Lewis. It would have to be someone idealistic with a strong social conscience, and Brandon instantly sprang to mind. What’s more, he already lived in Bristol so it wasn’t like I even had to relocate him. Perfect!

It’s more than just characters and setting linking the stories in The Bristol Collection, though. All books will deal to some degree with our attitude towards possessions, and what happens when we accumulate so many of them they start to cause problems. Not all the heroes will be major hoarders like Jasper, but they’ll all have cluttered homes, as it’s a topic I find fascinating. Of course, the exact nature of the sorts of things they collect and the impact this has on their lives will differ with each book. In Stuff, Mas’s love interest is a collector of vintage clothing and machinery, and I’m thoroughly enjoying immersing myself in his fictional shop of curios. The rest of you will have to wait till May 2014 to take a visit there, though!

Readers, do you enjoy a good series or are you more into standalone stories? Any favourite series you want to share with the rest of us?

Prize giveaway: In addition to the grand prize of a sexy book tote (entry details on Jo's website) there will be a $5 ebook gift voucher awarded to one commenter from every post during the tour, up to Monday 9th September, 9am GMT (full details also on Jo's website, including the blog tour itinerary)


Junk cover Junk

Letting go is the first step to healing…or bringing it all crashing down.

When an avalanche of books cuts off access to his living room, university librarian Jasper Richardson can no longer ignore the truth. His ever-growing piles of books, magazines and newspapers can no longer be classified as a “collection”. It’s a hoard, and he needs professional help.

Professional clutter clearer and counselor Lewis Miller thinks he’s seen it all, but even he has to admit he’s shocked. Not so much by the state of Jasper’s house, but by the level of attraction he still feels for the sexy bookworm he remembers from school.

What a shame that Lewis’s ethical code forbids relationships with clients. As Jasper makes slow but steady progress, though, the magnetic pull between them is so strong even Lewis is having trouble convincing himself it’s a temporary emotional attachment arising from the therapeutic process.

Jasper longs to prove to Lewis that this is the real deal. But first he’ll have to lay bare the root of his hoarding problem…and reveal the dark secret hidden behind his walls of books.

Warning: Contains a level-headed counselor with a secret addiction, a bespectacled geek with a sweet tooth, a killer “to-be-read” pile, embarrassing parents, a van called Alice, and deliciously British slang.

Junk is out now, available from the following retailers: Kindle US | Kindle UK | Nook | Samhain


About the author:
English through and through, Josephine Myles is addicted to tea and busy cultivating a reputation for eccentricity. She writes gay erotica and romance, but finds the erotica keeps cuddling up to the romance, and the romance keeps corrupting the erotica. Jo blames her rebellious muse but he never listens to her anyway, no matter how much she threatens him with a big stick. She’s beginning to suspect he enjoys it.

For more information about Jo’s published stories, regular blog posts and saucy free reads, visit JosephineMyles.com Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/josephine.myles.authorpage Twitter:http://twitter.com/JosephineMyles
Newsletter signup: http://eepurl.com/hrQ4s

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Review: From the Ashes by Daisy Harris

From the Ashes (Fire and Rain #1) by Daisy Harris
Samhain Publishing
Novel: 259pgs
3-3.25 Pants Off

Blurb:
Fire and Rain, Book 1

When an accident burns down Jesse’s apartment, he’s left broke and homeless, with a giant dog and a college schedule he can’t afford to maintain. And no family who’s willing to take him in.

Lucky for him, a sexy fireman offers him a place to stay. The drawback? The fireman’s big Latino family lives next door, and they don’t know their son is gay.

Tomas’s parents made their way in America with hard work and by accepting help when it was offered, so he won’t let Jesse drop out of school just so he can afford a place to live. Besides, Jesse’s the perfect roommate—funny, sweet and breathtakingly cute. He climbs into Tomas’s bed and tugs at his heart. Until Jesse starts pushing for more.

Their passion enflames their bodies but threatens to crush Tomas’s family. Tomas is willing to fight for Jesse, but after losing everything, Jesse isn’t sure he can bear to risk his one remaining possession—his heart.


Review
I am having a hard time with rating this book or even telling how I actually feel about it. I was really excited to read this one, so my expectations were high and somehow I can't help feel like it under performed. I had a hard time really getting into the characters and sometimes scenes would seem a little pointless (IMO).

Jesse was just doing a bit of grocery shopping, but instead of packing away his groceries he's watching his home burn to the ground. The few things he had just went up in a pile of flames and the reality that he's homeless just hasn't hit home. With his little job at a coffee shop and school fees, Jesse is barely making ends meet. Now he's got no place to live, no family to depend on, and no friends to call. Shit seems more hopeless as the ashes settle. Upside is that there is a fireman that is going above and beyond his duty to care for Jesse. All his kindness is a little suspicious but without the help Jesse would probably crumble and fall just like his burning home.

Tomas can't understand all his feels for the sad looking kid. But he finds himself wanting to care for him and help him out. Could be that Jesse looks like the kids (his word) that usually end up on their knees blowing him but he's never wanted to take one home before. Yes, he's attracted to the boy but his offer for help is sincere and he makes that clear. Suddenly he's offering up his home and inviting Jesse to stay while fighting a hell of an attraction. But Tomas can't be gay, he just can’t not with his family, not with his job, and it’s most definitely not alright with him. If only...

A part of me liked this book but the other part was really excited when it ended. Tomas and Jesse are alright enough characters, but they're chemistry was lacking and overall too many fluffy feels. I felt like this one should have been heavy on the angst but somehow it was just too sweet. What I enjoyed the most was Tomas's hang-ups when it came to sex. Sex with men has always been a seedy affair for him, so finally doing it with someone he cared about really put him in a bad place. It was both understandable and equally foolish but I enjoyed it.

Another dislike was the unnecessary characters that mostly felt like fillers instead of supporting characters. For instance Tomas's brother Diego, he was both unnecessary and annoying. Jesse's friends kinda fall into the same category and were just there. Again, I was hoping to like this one a lot but kudos on the interracial love I always appreciate them.

Should You Read It? If you're a fan of Daisy Harris and want to read about a hot fireman, for me it was just "ok" somewhere between a 3 and a 3.25 rating but as I said, I have mixed feelings about this one and found it a bit difficult to rate. Cover be amazing though!

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Review: The Gravemen by Melissa North

Reviewed by Fehu
The Gravemen by Melissa North
Less Than 3 Press
Novella: 153pgs
3.75 Pants Off

Blurb:
THE BANAM-HIN: An elite guard of the royal palace and city, they are seldom seen beyond them. Asdelar is a Blade of marked skill, but also a man who lives loud—flirtatious, teasing, open and free with affection. Life is not meant to be dull, even for a Blade.

THE IMALT-WOR: The notorious strong arms of the king, they maintain his law across the land. They are highly disciplined, respected and feared. Hinego is as strict in his personal life as he is maintaining the king's law. He has no time or patience for careless wastrels.

Forced to work together to locate the king's missing niece, neither man sees the journey ending in anything but disaster.


Review
Sweet and entertaining fantasy novel and I found a new author that I'd like to see more stories from in the future.

Hinego is part of a police force at least the equivalent of it in this fantasy setting and he at least appeared quite capable and interested in doing his job and the mission the king sent him to fulfill. Unfortunately for him the partner he was forced to take with him was from the king’s elite army force and Asdelar didn't really prove himself until the end.

I thought it was somewhat strange that the king would only send two men, in the search for his favorite niece, but one of them was very good at his job. Even drunk Hinego managed to defeat 4 attackers, while Asdelar just lay there and watched. I'd like to say that he was much of help in other instances, but he really wasn't. Mostly he annoyed Hinego and flirted a lot. He wasn't a character that I really liked, but he actually did manage to show some skill at the end, I'd count that as character development.

What I liked to see was how these characters, who begun their journey on quite hostile terms, found their way to each other. Hinego slowly warmed up to Asdelar and it would have been fantastic if the story was longer and I could have seen them work on their relationship back in the city.

The beginning was quite promising, had all that fun hostility and good tension, it drew me in, but sadly the middle wasn't as good, but the pace and story picked up at the end and made up for it. What I would have liked to see is more world building, some more explanations to history and culture. The Blades and The Reds were introduced and that's it, I would have liked to know more, about the kingdom in general. Of course the story wasn't all that long, which might explain why there wasn't more world building. It took time for Hinego to understand his own feelings for Asdelar and actually let him in, there was a reason for his reluctance and I wish it wasn't just mentioned at the end.

Should You Read It? If you like character driven stories with a fantasy setting and don't mind slow burn. I enjoyed reading the story and I read through it in one session, so it is an easy, nice read, with good dialogs and well written. The characters are the heart of the story and I liked it a lot that they didn't fall into each other arms after the first chapter.




Oops! Where Did My Pants Go?? (Whiskey and Wry)


I am unable to write a coherent review, so I am gonna rave about the pants losing this book caused. After reading the ending of Sinner's Gin you know shit was gonna be epic, and epic it was.

I'd like to tell you where my pants went. It got lost somewhere between Damien wearing that cowboy hat and Sionn just speaking. I couldn't even handle all the words or their explosive chemistry. Then of course there is all the explosive action that is never absent from a Rhys Ford book, it begins explosive and then ends even more explosive (gawww that ending).

Then there was this...

"Shut up and listen to me Irish," Damie whispered, licking at the spongy head hidden beneath Sionn's hood.
"You say you're safe. I know I'm safe. So unless you're going to get me pregnant, I'm going to suck you clean and fill my belly with your taste. Because I need that. I need you. Right. Now. Because the only thing thats going to make me feel better right now is you"

I can't even; I don't even know cus I am filled with too many feels.

"Hi you've reached Darien's pants. Sorry I unable to be found right now, but I hope to be back after a few days because Whiskey and Wry was just too sexy. Sorry if I'm unavailable to lose my pants for you". 

Seriously though, let’s get to real talk. Whiskey and Wry is another superb hit by the author. With action packed writing and unforgettable characters that will surely delight all the fans. I just really enjoy that the characters are flawed and there isn't any of that trying to fix them. They will work things out in their own time. Also, this villain be cray, cray but so very entertaining. Whiskey and Wry offers family drama in both the positive and ugly side of what it means to be a family (they say blood is thicker than water but that’s just being literal).

Loved, love, love the crap out of this book. I was entertained, lost my pants, Miki and Damien are just so freaking amazing I wanna eat them up with a spoon. Looking forward to Shaken & Stirred (not the actual title of the book) I'm just going on how it will probably make me feel.

Its been a pants less few days *sigh*



Whiskey and Wry (Sinners #2) by Rhys Ford
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 254pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
He was dead. And it was murder most foul. If erasing a man’s existence could even be called murder.

When Damien Mitchell wakes, he finds himself without a life or a name. The Montana asylum’s doctors tell him he’s delusional and his memories are all lies: he’s really Stephen Thompson, and he’d gone over the edge, obsessing about a rock star who died in a fiery crash. His chance to escape back to his own life comes when his prison burns, but a gunman is waiting for him, determined that neither Stephen Thompson nor Damien Mitchell will escape.

With the assassin on his tail, Damien flees to the City by the Bay, but keeping a low profile is the only way he’ll survive as he searches San Francisco for his best friend, Miki St. John. Falling back on what kept him fed before he made it big, Damien sings for his supper outside Finnegan’s, an Irish pub on the pier, and he soon falls in with the owner, Sionn Murphy. Damien doesn’t need a complication like Sionn, and to make matters worse, the gunman—who doesn’t mind going through Sionn or anyone else if that’s what it takes kill Damien—shows up to finish what he started.



4.5 Pants Off
Review: Book #1 Sinner's Gin


Guest Post & Giveaway: Glitterland by Alexis Hall (Blog Tour)

~ I am very excited to have Alexis Hall on the blog today. I have been hearing wonderful things about this one, so I am really excited to read it. Please do say hello and comment to win.~


Hello, and welcome to my first ever blog tour, celebrating Riptide Publishing’s release of my first ever novel, GLITTERLAND. Yay! Thank you so much to Pants Off Reviews for hosting me. And, to you, dear reader, for stopping by. If you’d like to come with me and keep me company on my virtual wanderings, you can find a full listing of when and where I am here.

There’s also some kind of contest type thing happening. The truth is – and already I reveal the rather limited scope of my imagination – quite a lot of the incidental things in GLITTERLAND have a little bit too much reality to them. In the sense that they’re, cough, in my house. Occasionally about my person. One of the things that absolutely isn’t about my person, and has always been solely decorative, is the peacock feather Venetian mask Ash has in his bedroom. I, too, rather admire the beauty of artificial things. If you’d like to win this slightly random souvenir, answer the three questions below (answers in the book) and drop me an email. I’ll announce the winner a handful of days after the end of the tour on the 3rd of September.

1. What other peacock feathered themed item does Ash own?
2. What does Darian has tattooed on his hip?
3. What is the name of Chloe’s boutique?

Love Reveals Us

I opened my mouth to say something—anything—and burst into tears. It was messy and mortifying, and I’d had no idea I was still capable of it. Pressing both hands to my mouth in a futile effort to stifle my sobs, I spun away from him. But the more I tried to compose myself, the less I succeeded, and the worse it all became. “Oh God. Oh God. I’m so sorry.” It came out a damp and hopeless garble.

My life had been little more than a parade of indignities. Mania. Institutionalisation. Drugs. ECT. Depressions so deep they have flayed my humanity to shreds and patches. The times I’d wanted to die. The times I’d tried. The doctor who sewed up my arms without anaesthetic to impress upon me the stupidity of what I had tried to do.

Yet they all paled to this: weeping my wretched heart out in front of a man who no longer wanted me.

--Somewhere near the end of GLITTERLAND

The ending of GLITTERLAND was the probably the bit of the book that underwent the greatest number of revisions during the editing process, and the bit I struggled most to get right. And I can’t really think about it, or discuss it, without expressing my gratitude to my absolutely wonderful and brilliant editor, Sarah Frantz. I know my name’s in shiny letters on the cover but GLITTERLAND really wouldn’t be the book it is without her. I’m kind of new to this whole writing lark, but the subtle miracle that is a truly talented editor still kind of blows my tiny mind. Like, I was pretty happy with GLITTERLAND when I finished it but, looking back, I kind of feel like I handed Sarah this roughly hewn lump of a book, and, somehow, she saw more truly and more clearly than I ever could have done the shape of thing I was ineptly trying to carve.

Originally, the ending of GLITTERLAND was a lot more downbeat, and a lot more uncertain. I did know – and I think I remained true to this through the many, many revisions that followed – that I didn’t want Ash to “win” Darian. Love isn’t a goldfish you get for knocking over three coconuts. So I wanted it, ultimately, to be Darian’s choice. In early drafts, this involved a lot of Ash explaining why his mental illness made him act like a dickhead, and a few slightly vague commitments to try and be less of a dickhead in the future. And I could tell it wasn’t quite right, there was something I wasn’t
quite getting but, for the life of me, I couldn’t work out what it was. Sarah kept trying to gently get emotion out of me, but it just wasn’t happening. I’m English. I don’t really do emotion.

We’d actually gone through developmental edits (the bit when you’re allowed, even encouraged, to change the plot) and into line edits (the bit when you’re really really not) by the time I finally got what Sarah had been trying to communicate to me all along. There was too much Ash, and not enough Darian, in that final scene. Essentially, it was playing out exactly as Ash – as the worst of Ash, the self-deluding, selfish, frightened part of him – would want. He gave very little, and got everything he wanted.

And that was also when I realized how much I … yes me … me at the keyboard … was holding the scene back. I was as scared as Ash. Probably more because I’m, y’know, a real, alive human. But I knew, then, two things had to happen in the scene. I knew that Darian would want, and need, a declaration – an absolutely straight forward, romance novel approved “I love you”. This was something I’d actually avoided in the original ending because I’m as cagey around those three words as Ash is. But it meant Ash was never really taken out of his comfort zone, just as I was never really taken out of mine.

And, secondly, I knew Ash had to abandon, or have taken from him, his dignity and control. Because love is beyond those things, beyond pride and shame. If you love someone, you have to trust them, and you have to let them see you. Let them know you. In all the naked ugliness of being human, and afraid, and full of hope and shame and wanting.

The vulnerability of that is hard to confront, even in writing. Ironically, I’m sort of doing it again, and edging unsuccessfully around something that was quite emotional for me. I suspect like a lot of people, I was brought up in a certain way, to believe certain things, and to associate certain expressions and behaviour with weakness. I grow further away from such ideas with every year at passes, but childhood weeds have deep, deep roots. So although it was a difficult scene for me to write, it was also liberating in many ways. I mean Ash is fictional, obviously, but it was nice to be able to remind myself that vulnerability isn’t weakness, it’s okay to cry for God’s sake, and if you love someone you should, y’know, tell them.

About AJH

Alexis Hall was born in the early 1980s and still thinks the 21st century is the future. To this day, he feels cheated that he lived through a fin de siècle but inexplicably failed to drink a single glass of absinthe, dance with a single courtesan, or stay in a single garret. He can neither cook nor sing, but he can handle a 17th century smallsword, punts from the proper end, and knows how to hotwire a car. He lives in southeast England, with no cats and no children, and fully intends to keep it that way.

You can also find him all over the internet, on his website, twitter, and goodreads.




About Glitterland

Once the golden boy of the English literary scene, now a clinically depressed writer of pulp crime fiction, Ash Winters has given up on love, hope, happiness, and—most of all—himself. He lives his life between the cycles of his illness, haunted by the ghosts of other people’s expectations.

Then a chance encounter at a stag party throws him into the arms of Essex boy Darian Taylor, an aspiring model who lives in a world of hair gel, fake tans, and fashion shows. By his own admission,
Darian isn’t the crispest lettuce in the fridge, but he cooks a mean cottage pie and makes Ash laugh, reminding him of what it’s like to step beyond the boundaries of anxiety.

But Ash has been living in his own shadow for so long that he can’t see past the glitter to the light. Can a man who doesn’t trust himself ever trust in happiness? And how can a man who doesn’t believe in happiness ever fight for his own?

You can read an excerpt and, y’know, cough, buy the book, if you want, at Riptide Publishing.



Sunday, August 25, 2013

What's Happening This Week! (Its Been Awhile)...

Omo, its been awhile. I do apologize for my lack of posts, buts its been a busy few months and I haven't been reading as much. I hope to change things during the start of the new school year, and get back to the regular schedule programming.

Pants Off is also being swamped with review requests, and sadly I don't have the reviewer power to meet the demand. SO IF ANYONE IS INTERESTED IN JOINING THE PANTS OFF TEAM. PLEASE DROP ME AN EMAIL @ pantsoffreviews@live.ca (will do another post for this).

So since I been MIA for awhile, I would love to know what you guys have been up to and what you would like to see more of on Pants Off Reviews.

Without further ado, here's what’s causing a pants losing this week...

Reviews:

  • Whiskey and Wry by Rhys Ford (Oops Where Did My Pants Go)
  • From the Ashes by Daisy Harris
  • The Gravemen by Melissa North (Fehu)
  • Waiting For Ty by Samantha Ann King
  • Sonata by A.F Henley





Guest Posts & Giveaways

  • Glitterland Guest Post
  • Writing In Series by Josephine Myles (Junk Blog Tour)



Other Post

  • Fanfic Friday


Have A Great Week!

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Review: PUP by SJD Peterson

PUP by SJD Peterson
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 214pgs
3 Pants Off

Blurb:
Micah “Pup” Slayde knows he wants Tackett Austin the moment he lays eyes on him in the Guards of Folsom. Micah wants to have purpose, to be taken care of, and to take care of his Dom—wants to trust him completely, live for him, belong to him. To become his everything. Micah is sure Tackett is the one. The problem is, in order to be the perfect sub, he needs to stay focused, and that’s not easy for Micah, who suffers from what he refers to as a “broken brain.” Focus and adult attention deficit disorder rarely coexist.

Ever since Ty Callahan and Blake Henderson’s collaring ceremony, Tackett’s been thinking too much about his own loneliness. Even though Ty introduces Micah and urges Tackett to give him a try, Tackett isn’t so easily convinced. He’s spent his life pursuing a successful business career, and the subs he dominates almost never enjoy the kiss of his leather twice. Twenty years Micah’s senior, Tackett has no interest in taking on and taming such a young and naughty sub—but it’s difficult to resist such an adorable pup when he begs.


Review:
I seem to be having a hard time with this author's books. Don't get me wrong, they're not badly written but once again I was disappointed in characters and remained unmoved with the overall story. I was really looking forward to reading because of the BDSM element, but I found that part to be the weakest and was left feeling "meh".

Micah is looking for a Dom, and not just any Dom will do. He has his eyes on Tackett Austin, and is hoping he can become the perfect sub for the man that he knows is "the one". Only thing keeping them apart is Tackett himself, and Micah's inability to focus. Micah knows he can be a handful because of his lack of focus, and serving a Dom and caring for him takes just that. But Tackett is the one to keep him grounded and if only Micah can convince the older man to take him and finally give him the very things he's been looking for, a place to call home and a Dom to call his own.

Tackett Austin has achieved all the things, he has a successful business and he can just hang out at home. What he doesn't need is taking on a full time sub, no matter how adorable and sexy the sub happens to be. Yet, Tackett can't resist the allure that his Micah and he finds himself taking the young man on for 2wks. Micah turns out to be handful and Tackett is feeling like he's taken on more than he can spank.

So Micah has attention deficit and while that added something interesting to the character, I found it to be too fantastical. On some level it’s believable but in the end I found it to be a little extreme for the character. Also I wasn't really feeling Tackett on a whole; he was there but wasn't interesting enough. Overall, I just didn't love it as much as I had hoped, the BDSM was very weak for me and I couldn't get into it. Felt like one of those SSDB (Same Sh*t Different Book) kinda feels (I am horrible).

Should You Read It? Once again to each his/her own, I liked it enough to finish reading, but in the end it was just an 'o.k' read. I haven't given up hope that there is a SJD book out there just waiting for me to love it.

3 Pants Off

Review: Blessed Curses by Madeleine Ribbon

Reviewed by Fehu
Blessed Curses by Madeleine Ribbon
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 168pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Though he’s a sorcerer with a talent for creating blessings, David can do very little with any other magic. He works the night shift for his cousin’s magical supply shop because he’s cursed—his brother did it when they were kids—and now people can’t stand to be near David since he inspires irrational fear. Many experts have tried to remove it, but the curse has proven completely binding. Then David meets Vaughn at his brother's wedding.

Vaughn works for the magical enforcers, picking apart complex curses and making sure sorcerers stay within the law. He has the ability to dampen magical effects around him and loves solving supposedly irreversible curses like David’s. He quickly develops a more personal interest in David. Despite the distance David attempts to keep between them, he finally realizes when Vaughn is injured on the job that he doesn’t want to stay away anymore. But what about the curse?


Review
My first book by Madeleine Ribbon and it was a very nice surprise! Hooked from the first line! I followed David to the fateful meeting with his jealous older brother. I couldn't help, but feel sorry for David and angry on his behalf or glad for him, which is a good thing, for me at least, since I like to be able to relate to the character and have at least some connection to them. Anyone who had older siblings and didn't get along with them could empathize with the poor boy, when said git of a brother cursed him. Temporarily I wondered if their mother should do more than just deal with the damage, she doesn't really punish Todd (fitting name!) for hurting his brother.

Now because of his brother’s thoughtless action, David has to deal with a curse that stuck and nobody beside his brother can stand to be close to him, or he close to them without experiencing angst, dread and other negative feelings. David never had friends or lovers and no enforcer or other magic user was able to help "The Impossible Kid", how he has been named by the researchers. All changes on his brother’s wedding day when David meets his sister in law's best friend Vaughn, who is part of the magical Enforcers that deal with different magical problems, mishaps and crimes. Sparks fly when they meet and Vaughn actually has a blessing that allows him to be close to David, without freaking out, running for the hills or just fainting. Lucky for David, Vaughn sees more in him than just a puzzle to solve.

It was a sweet story, with elements of hurt/comfort and parts that melted my heart, like David’s confession to Vaughn, about never having kissed anybody. I loved how patient and understanding Vaughn was and that they took their time to work towards a relationship. While the suspense didn't last and the story did move a bit sluggish in the middle, I got attached to the characters by that time and just wanted to see them have their happy ending. The story flows nicely and makes for an easy read, with well developed characters and sometimes heart melting dialogs. The one thing I was wondering is why David got along with Todd so well as a grown up. I mean basically Todd ruined his life and David didn't really blame him, considering the dreams he had about his own restaurant, having friends and someone to love.

Should You Read It? If you like some magic in your modern world and like hard luck characters and a slowly developing romance, than this is the perfect book for you! It's sweet, but not saccharine sweet, there are some edges, some conflict, but not enough to turn it into a drama. Recommend for all friends to lovers fans!
4 Pants Off


Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Winner...



VITAJEX

*Winner of Dandy by Jaidon Wells, winner was chosen by author. Thanks to all who commented and to Jaidon who offered up a copy of his book.*

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Guest Post: The Ranch Foreman by Rob Colton (Promo)

Blurb:
When Madison “Matty” Ward finds himself out of work and without a place to live, his cousin comes through with a job on the Gates cattle ranch. Despite not knowing anything about herding cattle or taking care of horses, Matty does his best to impress the older hunky foreman, Baxter Hollingsworth. Baxter is drawn to the new young hand, but he’s deeply closeted, and after an openly gay veterinarian shows he’s interested in Matty, Baxter’s repressed feelings lead to an explosive encounter. Baxter then withdraws—leaving Matty feeling angry and used—until an accident forces him to confront his fears.
http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4093&cPath=899

Excerpt

Matty bent over, retrieving the brush he had dropped.

A sound coming from behind him made him suddenly aware he was no longer alone. When he turned around, he found Baxter watching him intently. The cowboy’s hazel eyes burned with lust, slowly scorching a trail up and down Matty’s body.

Matty’s breathing hitched as his palms began to sweat. Blood began to flow south of the border, leaving Matty practically brain-dead. Knowing he should say something, the only thing he could come up with was “Hi.”

The foreman mumbled something under his breath before he turned and walked out of the barn, leaving Matty in a state of arousal.

It wasn’t the first time this had happened. Maybe he hadn’t noticed it before because he was so damn tired, but over the course of the week, he found Baxter watching him on more than one occasion. But if he tried to talk to the man, he didn’t get much more than a one- or two-word answer or possibly a grunt before the cowboy walked away. He seemed to go out of his way to avoid talking to Matty.

That didn’t stop Matty from wanting him. In fact, the more Baxter played hard to get, the more Matty desired the big cowboy. He had jerked off nearly every night, his mind conjuring up all sorts of lurid fantasies involving the big hunk of man.

Yes, Matty knew he was pathetic, but he couldn’t seem to stop himself.

Needing to get his mind off the foreman, Matty turned back to his work.

To his surprise, Baxter returned not even an hour later. “I’m going into the city for supplies,” he said, not quite meeting Matty’s eyes. “You want to come along?”

“Yes,” Matty replied eagerly.

“We leave in fifteen minutes.” He walked out of the barn without another word.

Matty scrambled to put his grooming supplies away. After he used the restroom and washed his hands, he scrubbed his teeth at the sink with his finger and some water. Combing his fingers through his hair, he was as ready as he was going to be on short notice.

Baxter was already waiting at his truck when Matty got there.

Matty had thought they were just going into their little town, but for the stuff they needed, they would need to drive farther into the city. That was fine with Matty. Two hours alone with Baxter? Hell yes!

Wrong.

“So how long have you been working on the ranch?” Matty asked as the truck bounced over the gravel drive and made the turn onto the main road.

“Long enough.”

“The Gateses are really wonderful people. How did you meet them?”

Baxter didn’t answer. He picked up the thermos Miss Ethel had provided him and managed to pour coffee into the cap with one hand. He sipped the steaming liquid from the makeshift mug, still ignoring Matty’s question.

The cowboy made it pretty clear he wasn’t interested in any sort of conversation. When Matty opened his mouth to repeat his question, Baxter reached over and turned the radio on.

And apparently he expected Matty to be quiet as well.



About Rob Colton:

Rob Colton is a software developer by day, and avid reader of romance novels at night. A romantic at heart, he loves stories that feature big, burly men who find true love and happy endings.

Rob grew up in northern Michigan and currently lives in the Atlanta area with his very supportive husband and their very spoiled miniature schnauzer.

Visit Rob online: 
http://robcolton.com/ 
https://twitter.com/robcub32 
https://www.facebook.com/robcub32 

Guest Post with Giveaway: Your Happy End by E.E Ottoman (Geeks)

~I am very excited to have E.E Ottoman on the blog today talking about the most awesome, geeks. So please help me welcome E.E~

Hello and thank you for having me on Pants Off Reviews! I am excited to be talking about my new short novella Your Happy End. Today I want to talk about one of my favorite things: geeks!
I am a geek.

Not in a tech and math kind of a way but in a passionate to the point of obsession kind of a way.

For as long as I can remember I have been obsessed with history. Ancient Egypt and mummification, Richard III and the War of the Roses, early Christian history, Japanese history, Chinese history, 19th century American women's history, the history of sexuality and sexual taboos, the history of mental illness and criminality, Asian American history, the history of American Chinatowns. I just love history, I love researching it and writing about it.

I am also a huge Star Trek fan, and have been reading X-Men comics since I was twelve. I have been a Holmesian since I was six, and a Doctor Who fan almost as long, fantasy is my favorite genre to read and write, and I built a to-scale model of Helium from Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars books when I was thirteen. Being a geek is one of the things that I do best.

Most of all I love other geeky people. By 'geeky people' I mean people who are truly passionate about something to the point where they are not afraid to come off seeming a little weird. They don't have to be geeky about the same things I do at all. I love being around people who don't think it is strange that I like to spend all my time in a library or that I've just finished knitting a replica season 12 Doctor Who scarf, but they don't need to have or want Doctor Who scarves of their own.

Some of my best dates and relationships have been with other geeks. Nothing quite beats listening to someone talk about something that makes them light up and maybe wave their hands around a little bit. Better yet is the chance to geek out with your date over Baring-Gould's annotated Sherlock Holmes. Learning to love, or at least respect, something that someone I care about truly, deeply loves is, for me, one of the best parts of any new relationship.

Fortunately for me m/m romance is chock full of geeks and geeky characters. Unfortunately I haven't been able to find a whole lot of geek/geek couples. By geek/geek I mean two characters whose passions and love of something push them outside of what is considered normal or acceptable. So when I sat down to write a superhero story I knew it would be about geeks.

Both of my main characters Cooper and Jun are, in a lot of ways, what we traditionally think of as geeks.

Jun loves to build robots and machines of all sorts. His job on the superhero team that he's a apart of is to come up with all their gadgetry. He also co-owns a comic bookstore as a cover for his superhero work. Jun is a huge comic book fan and is into both mainstream and indie comics. He is also a hardcore Trekkie who still stands by the Original Series as the best in the franchise.

Cooper is a hacker. His specialty is information collecting and surveillance. If the information is electronic than Cooper can find it, or make it disappear, whatever is needed. Also if you're in the line of sight of satellite or surveillance camera than Cooper can see you. He works for a masked vigilante getting information he needs and covering his tracks. Cooper prefers graphic novels over traditional industry comic books and is a lover of webcomics as well. He is also a dire hard Doctor Who fan and loves both Classic and New Who, although in his heart of hearts Ten is his Doctor.

Most importantly though both would self-identify as a geek and see no conflict with their gay and genderqueer identities.

Jun and Cooper meet each other and bond in Jun's comic book store. The really connecting happens though when they both discovered that they work as the technological support for two superhero teams.

Lots of cuteness ensues.

And I don't know about you but I think there are a lot worse things to base a relationship on than a mutual love of comic books and custom built cars.

Give-Away: if you are interested in participating in a give-away to win a copy of Your Happy End, visit my blog http://thisjourneywithoutamap.blogspot.com/2013/08/give-away-you-happy-end.html

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Guest Post & Giveaway: Heroes & Villains by Harper Kingsley

This is the third stop on the Heroes & Villains blog tour. I'm Harper Kingsley and I've always loved to write.

 I've written and published several full-length novels. I also have a few that I've tucked away far from the eyes of Men. Because I'm embarrassed by them. Because, like the One Ring, anyone that looks upon the manuscripts will fall for Galadriel and despair.

At the same time, I keep them safe in their prison because I made them and I can't help loving them. I fully plan to go back through someday and perform some serious edits and rewrites. There's stuff about those stories that I still love -- otherwise I would have just thrown them away -- but there's no way any other eyes but mine can see them in their current state. Still, I flip through them every few years just to see what's up and it's like meeting an old friend.

It's like finding your old Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles fanfic. You love it because hey, they like pizza and they're ninjas and Splinter is their awesome rat sensei. Plus, the story is proof that even at eight years old you knew ninjas rocked and superheroes fighting bad guys was what the world needed. Even if they were giant turtles swinging dangerous weapons.

To me, writing Heroes & Villains was a big step. It marks a real turning point in the quality of my writing. I only have to unlock the vault and visit those manuscripts to see where I started. Heroes & Villains makes me proud of where I'm going and hopeful about where I'm going to end up.

Heroes & Villains is my yellow belt. Something clicked in my brain and the writing began to flow smoother than ever before. A superhero becomes a supervillain in love with a superhero. It's like the Ouroboros, the snake eating its own tail. One Ring.

Vereint -- whether as Starburst or Darkstar or just himself -- represents the Ring to the people around him. Maybe it's an unconscious use of his metability or just his destiny, because nearly everyone wants to lay claim to him in some capacity. But he is, at heart, a loner. Never seeming lonely, before he meets Warrick he is usually alone. Afterward, he begins to fill out more as a three-dimensional character.

His shedding of the role of hero marks a turning point in his life. He embraces the idea of being the villain and he enjoys every minute of it. From taunting the superheroes to becoming an object of lust and idolization, he has fun playing the bad guy. Right up until things tip over to the strange and frightening.

The rise of the Darksters forces him to realize that being a supervillain doesn't necessarily mean being a bad guy. He is a criminal, but senseless anarchy is not a direction he wants to go.

He is like a ninja turtle fighting for truth, justice, and the last slice of pizza. Except he's an old school manga turtle and his sword is extra sharp and there is no parents' council to clean up all the violence.

Because at the end of the day he's not Starburst or Darkstar. He's not a deity to be worshipped or an idol to be emulated.

He's Vereint Georges, and he's human.

----

I'm giving out an ebook copy of Heroes & Villains at the end of this blog tour. You can earn five entries by following the tour and answering the question after each post.

I'll be using Random.org to pick a winner the morning of August 19th.

Answer the question in the comments: Who is your favorite superhero and what is their power? (Any fandom is fine.)

----

Heroes & Villains at Less Than Three Press.

 All Vereint ever wanted was to be a superhero, fight alongside the other great heroes of the city and beat down the villains that plague them. There's just one problem: he sucks at it, at least according to the other heroes and the majority of the city. Instead of the greatness and glory of which he dreamed, Vereint spends his days alone, exhausted, and depressed. When the mockery and derision finally go too far, Vereint decides he's reached his limit. If he's never going to be good enough to succeed as the hero Starburst, maybe it's time to try the role of villain instead … 

 You can find Harper Kingsley at her blog, on Twitter, and at Goodreads.

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Review: Denying Yourself by Silvia Violet

Denying Yourself by Silvia Violet
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 205pgs
3 Pants Off

Blurb:
Matt and Shane both have secrets. Matt never believed he was anything but straight, yet he’s increasingly attracted to his best friend. Shane is comfortable with being gay, but when he discovers he’s part werewolf, he hides that part of himself, fearing Matt’s reaction. Suffocated by his uptight parents and conservative hometown, Shane begs Matt to run away with him.

But starting over doesn’t help. Matt still denies his desires, and Shane abuses alcohol to dampen his wolfish urges. When Matt breaks down and kisses Shane, the pent-up passion proves too much for Shane’s self-control, and his wolf gets free. Horrified, Shane flees—into deeper trouble. Before they can hope to accept each other, Shane and Matt must accept themselves.


Review
Matt and Shane are best friends who live in a small town. Matt is straight and Shane is gay but that doesn't stop them from being close friends, only problem is that Shane is wildly attracted to Matt and its causing a few problems for him. So Shane gets lost in drinking and partying, also he hasn't been feeling like himself for quite some time. It’s like he wants to crawl out of skin, and controlling his urges almost seems impossible. So Shane begins to distance himself from Matt before he makes a mistake, like attacking his friend and ripping his pants off.

But it all changes when they run away together, and Shane begins a worst sort of downward spiral. He's drinking a lot more and dealing with the fact that he is also a werewolf; who knew? Things start to look up when it seems Matt shares his feelings and they get consumed in this fiery desire, it’s like the one thing Shane has wanted is finally coming true. There is still the werewolf thing he has to share with Matt but they have all the time in the world. Until, it seems that Matt might be regretting that he could be possibly gay and yeh that he slept with Shane. Shane goes wolf mode and scares Matt, and pulls a Houdini and disappears from Matt's life (cus you know its better that way).

The story then moves onto Shane's life on the streets, his descent into alcoholism and prostitution to feed his addiction. It’s rough for him out there on the streets, until he is saved by a Good Samaritan who happens to be a wolf who takes him into rehabilitation. Years go by and Shane is now stone cold sober and got his very own pack, but he still has to learn to live without Matt cus he still loves the crap out of him. Yet, he's learnt to live and let other people in but he knows one day he will have to find his courage and go find Matt. That day has come sooner than expected and now Matt and Shane must deal with past hurts, and maybe having a new beginning.

First, I kind of like this book, but also I kind of dislike it. It felt very disjointed and sometimes it was just too unnecessarily drama. I feel like Shane created his own problems, and dude couldn't even pick up the phone and give people a call. Yes, I would have certainly been pissed as hell just like Matt had the right to be. A little call saying "hey I'm not dead and I need some time" would have certainly gone over well. I would have loved to experience things from Matt's perspective because Shane all the time felt very after school special.

The werewolf thing, though apart of the story wasn't really integrated well into the story. I believe it would have been better if that whole theme wasn't a part of it and the author took some other routes and I would have enjoyed this one more. All in all, I didn't love this one and couldn't really get into the characters or the story. It’s a strong beginning, ‘meh’ middle, and an ok ending.

Should You Read It? *crickets cue the crickets* others might enjoy this one and find it "oh so cute" but for me it’s a pass. I'm surprised I remember enough to write this review, it’s really kind of forgettable (and somewhere a puppy perished because of my meanness).

3 Pants Off

Review: Apple Polisher by Heidi Belleau

Apple Polisher (Rear Entrance Video #1) by Heidi Belleau
Riptide Publishing
Novel: 230pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
This straight-A student has a dirty little secret.

Christian Blake dreams of being a kindergarten teacher, but making the grade means maintaining a squeaky clean image: no drinking, no drugs, no swearing, no sex. And definitely no falling for his new roommate—tattooed bad-boy Max, who may or may not be a drug dealer.

Most of all, it means no working at a porn store. But Christian’s aunt has cancer, and her beloved Rear Entrance Video will go bankrupt if Christian doesn’t take over managerial duties. Soon enough, Christian finds himself juggling sticky twenty-five cent peepshow booths, a blackmailing employee, and a demanding professor who likes to make an example of him.

And then there’s Max, who doesn’t know anything about the store, but hates Christian’s preppy sweater vests and the closet Christian forces him into when they’re together. Max just wants Christian to be himself—even though Max is keeping secrets of his own. Christian struggles to find the impossible balance between his real life and the ideal one he thinks a teacher needs to live . . . all while trying to keep his aunt’s dream alive without losing his own.


Review
I can honestly say that my expectations were high for this book. After knowing the awesomeness that is Heidi Belleau through co-authoring with some very talented authors, her solo work was a must read on my list. I have to say I was not disappointed at all, this book delivered for me and I couldn't help falling in love with all the characters.

Christian Blake is a straight A student with a squeaky clean image, after all he's gonna be a teacher and it’s his job to lead by example. So Christian wears his sweater vests and tries to be all that he can be, but he's hit n hard times and he needs a place to live fast. What he can afford comes with four new roommates, and though the setting might not be ideal, Christian knows he's going to have to be extra diligent when it comes to fun. No drinking, no smoking, and especially no sex with men, no matter how hot is his roommates are. Especially that Max, who may or may not be a drug dealer with his tats and attitude, Christian isn't sure if he likes him not at all or a whole lot.

Christian has got a lot on his plate. He has to uphold this squeaky clean image which is exhausting, and his aunt who is like a mother to him is sick from cancer. His priorities are a little screwed because he's always wanted to be a teacher and he is willing to go the distance to achieve it, and yet he's guilty of not being the most supporting family member when his aunt has always been there for him. Things would have been simpler if his aunt didn't own a porn shop, and she didn't need help with said porn shop, Rear Entrance Video. Life is just one long complicated mess for Christian who hides in a closet, and hides behind his dream of teaching.

Of course his chemistry with bad boy is off the chain, and he's all angsty about it. Yet, the body wants what the body wants, and Christian and Max dive into a sexual relationship, Christian knows his lust for Max is strong but he isn't very positive that he even likes the dude. But it turns out that Max is the more real of them both, and Christian has got to put on his big boy panties and go help out at his aunt's video shop. Well you know...all secret and shit.

First, I enjoyed the crap out of this one! Christian is such a real character who is very scared of doing the wrong thing even though it’s actually the right thing. His being scared to open up is so legit in this book, and he might come off as stuck up but his reasons are sound. I can imagine wanting something so bad and one little thing could make you lose it all. Plus, the one time he shared who he was to the person whom should have accepted him the most, she just threw him away. Then there is Max, it all comes back to Max a man who challenges, infuriates, and is all the things that Christian shouldn't want and don't even deserve having but above all else needs. They couldn't be more opposite, but yet are so very much alike I freaking love them together.

Apple Polisher is such a fitting name for the first book in this series cus Christian is sweater vest wearing ass kisser (duuuuude seriously) but he's legit. It's also a mix of geek, a modern day romance of opposites attract and sexy fire explodes on the floor of porn shop (real scene that happened), and a lesson in being true to yourself. And of course the most important is that Apple Polisher is so diversified and for that alone I salute you Heidi Belleau. I love reading about a strong positive black character and the woman that raised him, and Max who proves never to judge a book by its cover. I can't wait to read book 2!!

Should You Read It? Yes, yes, and more yes. I enjoyed reading this one a whole lot, and it’s an awesome read from a fantastic author.

4.5 Pants Off


Thursday, August 8, 2013

Guest Post & Giveaway: What's In A Name by Jaidon Wells

Hey! Thanks for having me today, you guys. I’m here promote Dandy, and today I wanted to talk about a pretty specific element of the book, which composes only one of many facets of humor present in the book, but which is personally one of my favorites to plan out. That being: the names of places. And, with this book, I got the personal pleasure of naming many different places, given that the story does not take place at a university or in a city that exists in the real world (and I have been genetically engineered to be unwilling to put a typical and well known place of business where I could come up with something of my own that lends comedic effect).

Perhaps my favorite of these places (the other top contenders being a restaurant named Thai Me Up and another called Chicken Out) is A Whole Latte Love, a coffee shop introduced in the beginning of the book and reintroduced throughout the story, which names its coffee after Romantic Poets


Dandy:
Andrew is a little overwhelmed, between grad school, his bookstore job, crazy friends, and a roommate slowly turning criminal. The very last thing he needs is more stress, but it's what he gets anyway, in the form of Cassidy, the frustrating, intriguing, and supposed-to-be-dead brother of his law-breaking roommate.

Throw in a flamboyant campus hero, a series of kitchen fires, a slanderous romance manuscript, stoner music shops, an arguably-mad scientist, a terrible indie band, and a blue period, and Andrew realizes that being overwhelmed is easy. It's the rapidly spinning out of control that's a bit difficult to handle.


You can buy it here.


Giveaway:
If you’d like a chance to win an ebook copy of Dandy, just comment below with email. One commenter will be chosen using random.org to receive a copy in the format of their choice. The give-away will close at 11:59 pm on Sunday, August 11th.

About the Author
Jaidon was born in South Bend, Indiana, and spent some time in Michigan, before settling down in Dalls, Texas. He sometimes regrets this because of the god-awful summers and the fact that he’s picked up a bit of a southern accent. Y’all, it’s unfortunate. In Spring of 2013, he received a degree in Psychology from the University of North Texas, which is problematic only because now everyone he knows seems to have developed a psychiatric disorder. Weird.

Jaidon has been an avid reader since childhood and wrote his first short story at 7 (which has, fortunately, been lost to the ages) and attempted his first novel at 13 (which, unfortunately, has not been lost to the ages; he still has a copy on his computer). He started out writing stories with the full intent of breaking the reader’s heart, and, now, has somehow ended up writing all comedy and romance with happy endings. Go figure.

You can find Jaidon online at:
jaidonilwells.com
smugbitchesinc.tumblr.com
cacographical@gmail.com

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

The Rainbow Awards!!



I am so excited to be taking part in The Rainbow Awards once again as a member of the jury (sounds freaking cool right). I took part for the very first time in 2012, and it was such a great experience I decided to do it again in 2013. The awards have provided me with the opportunity to read books that I might have overlooked, and with that I have come across some serious gems.

If you've had your eyes on the Rainbow Awards but haven’t gotten there’s still time to submit your work, and if you would like to be a part of the jury you can contact Elisa rainbowawards.submission@gmail.com.


Here are some guidelines if you want to get involved:

SUBMISSION PROCESS

  • Books submitted for consideration will be accepted between February 15 and September 5, 2013.
  • A shortlist of up to five finalists for each category will be announced no later than October 15, 2013.
  • Winners will be announced on December 8, 2013.
  • A book can be submitted only by its author or by its publisher. Submit a book in the category most appropriate: please indicate Gender (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) and Genre Young Adult, Contemporary General Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy, Erotic Romance, Paranormal Romance, Erotica, Fantasy, Sci-Fi / Futuristic, Historical, Historical Romance, Mystery / Thriller, Non Fiction, Biography / Memoir, Poetry, Debut Novel/Book).
  • Books are submitted in electronic version (PDFs). Submitting the ebook, authors/publishers agree for its distribution with the only purpose of being read by the commission. It's recommended but not mandatory, that the PDF file has some kind of protection, like a specific disclaimer or similar.


More info can be found on Elisa’s blog, where is she diligently working and getting all the things organized. My experience has been so pleasant and I support RA so much for getting LGBTQ books out there. So be sure to check out the winners this come December!

I am so in love with this!! It may or may not be the reason I decided to take part in the Rainbow Awards.


Review: Mountain Prey by Lyn Gala

Reviewed by Fehu
Mountain Prey by Lyn Gala
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 210pgs
4.25 Pants Off

Blurb:
Stewart Folger lives in the Appalachian Mountains, where people take care of their family and follow the Bible. He feels that Appalachian pull in his blood, but that hasn’t tamed his wild side. A youth full of pranks left him with the nickname Stunt and a preference for danger in and out of bed. Other than a few contrary moonshiners who hate him for philosophical reasons since he’s a forestry technician and federal employee, he doesn’t have a problem in the world. Then one day he runs into Alex Soto, a man out for revenge.

Just out of prison, Alex knows firsthand that the justice system doesn’t treat poor and rich equally, so he’ll have to go outside the law to avenge his brother’s death. When an innocent man lands in the middle of his plans, he doesn't know what to do… other than take him hostage. Unfortunately, he never planned on having to deal with Stunt or with the twisted logic that passes for reasonable in Stunt’s mountain home.


Review
When I saw this book and requested it, I didn't see the BDSM warning, which would have given me pause and I might have given it a pass. I'm glad I didn't see the warning, since the book turned out to be quite a fun read. Surprisingly funny well written and well all that enter abandon logic and let's go through the mirror into the Mountain Kingdom. ;)

Stunt was minding his own business as a forestry technician, when he saw something or rather someone he shouldn't have and got kidnapped for his trouble. Now, you would think being tied up and held at shotgun would make a guy not go arguing with the crazy man, who has the gun pointed on you, but not Stunt, no sir! Being tied up is nothing new to Stunt, he actually likes some bondage in his sex life and it's not like his kidnapper is hard on the eyes, if it were not for the crazy revenge plan Alex was plotting against a drug lord, who murdered his brother, Stunt might have liked the Dom and his own treatment.

Now not everybody would feel sorry for his kidnapper, but Stunt proves that he earned his name and advises Alex on potential allies for the take down of the new arrived drug lord. That's when all the fun begins! Alex is not the world's best kidnapper and seeing as he hadn't planned on taking a hostage, the sheriff said it very well in the end, and both of them shouldn't go for any Mission Impossible casting show. Sound advice from law enforcement to guys who were actually trespassing, but they did help with the capture of a drug lord, so his mellow attitude might come from that.

Did I mention that Alex asked one of the local moonshiners for help with his revenge plan? Well, yes, of course he would help with kidnapping a federal agent and killing of a drug lord. Who wouldn't in his place? Now, that's not the best part of this crazy scheme! How would you go about silencing a federal agent, namely Stunt and keeping him from telling on Alex? The nice moonshiner has the perfect plan: marry them! For all the fans of forced marriages, here is a shot gun wedding for two guys!

I won’t tell you how they got the drug lord in the end and survived to tell the tale, but I will say that normal logic wasn't present there as well! All in all this has been an interesting ride and I can honestly say that there were a lot of twists and turns that I didn't expect. However the writing is excellent and I was instantly pulled into the story. While Stunt seems to lack some common sense, he and Alex made quite a pair. Mountain logic was a fun discovery and made for a lot of let’s say...creative explanations in this story. Sex scenes were pretty hot and Stunt spends quite a lot of time bound in this book and mostly enjoying it.

Should You Read It? Mountain Prey has a lot more humor than you would expect and a lot less drama than I assumed from the blurb. If you like fun characters and don't mind some bondage, then you might want to give this one a shot. It's quite the ride, but I didn't put it down until I was finished.




Guest Post: : Bisexual Men in Regency Romance – "Love Continuance and Increasing" by Julian Griffith



Thanks for having me here today! I'm excited to have the chance to talk about my new book, Love Continuance and Increasing, which is a historical MMF ménage romance set in England during the Napoleonic Wars. As you might expect, both of the heroes are bisexual, and I'd like to go into a little bit about what it meant to be a bisexual man in that time.

The first thing to know is that in the early 1800s in England, sex between men was illegal, and punishable by death. Or, more strictly, sodomy carried the death penalty; the courts usually ruled that this required both penetration and emission, and anything else was 'attempted sodomy' or 'lewd behaviour', both misdemeanors instead of capital felonies. Pretty depressing, huh? But, from the number of court cases alone, it's clear that these laws didn't stop men having sex with other men—and that doesn't take into account the ones who got away with it.

I want to focus on those men today. Their stories are often told as part of gay history, but that's probably not how they would have looked at themselves. The word 'homosexual' wasn't even invented until the end of the 19th century, when the first men to call themselves 'sexologists' set out to categorize human sexuality. There were certainly men who were exclusively interested in other men in the early 19th century and before, and people had names to describe them: there was sodomite, of course, and the more polite paederast, which didn't then carry the connotation of preferring underage partners, but was meant to connect same-sex love with Ancient Greece, and to hold it up as a manly ideal. If you were going to be vulgar about it, there was bugger, which was a noun as well as a verb, and then there was molly, which specifically meant the effeminate and cross-dressing male prostitutes who worked out of 'molly-houses', which weren't strictly brothels, but more like places of assignation—the equivalent of a gay bar with a back room, to cast it in modern terms. There were outdoor cruising areas, too; Lincoln's Inn Fields was one of the most notorious, and there were sections of London's public parks that got very lively after dusk.

But that doesn't mean that all the men who were having sex with other men only had sex with other men! Many of the mollies' customers were married. A sailor might exchange favors with his shipmate when they were at sea, but seek out women when he was on shore. And young men at single-sex boarding schools, which were the only boarding schools that existed, would often look to each other to satisfy their desires, but go on to marry and have children, as they were expected to do.

I was thinking about those sorts of men when I created my heroes. Lieutenant Thorne is from a poor family and went to sea when he was twelve. He's only an officer because a captain observed how capable he was, and promoted him to a midshipman, which was an officer-in-training and a 'young gentleman'. He's attracted to women, sure, but he hasn't been around them much. He's always sent his pay home to support his widowed mother and his sisters, which doesn't leave him enough to support a wife—and as for other possibilities, he's always felt uncomfortable paying a whore because who could say whether she really wanted to be there? Thorne can't help thinking of his sisters, who might have found themselves needing to do the same, if they didn't have him to rely on, and the whole idea of it just makes him sad. He's more likely to seek out those back rooms and back alleys where like-minded men went to find each other, because at least there he can be sure his partner wants to, even if Thorne never learns his name.

Lord Rockingham, on the other hand, is coming from a very different place. He's always been interested in both men and women, and he's had much more opportunity to play around with both, even before he joined the army as an officer at sixteen (those schoolboys again). Rockingham's never been afraid that he couldn't support a wife, and, as for relationships with men, well, even if he did get caught, he wouldn't be tried in court, but in the House of Lords – very literally a jury of his peers – and he could probably afford to send his lover out of the country where he'd be safe from prosecution. He feels comfortable having an affair with a man, even falling in love with one, and equally comfortable with the idea that someday he'll marry a woman and have children with her.

It's those different backgrounds that shape the individual relationships that Thorne and Rockingham have with the heroine, Caroline. For Rockingham, it's something he's always expected, and for Thorne, it's something he never expected to find at all. Rockingham's attraction to Caroline feels perfectly natural to him; for Thorne, it's almost alien, but it's too powerful to ignore. And it's the contrast between those two very different emotional realities that ultimately makes the relationship they all build together as special as it is.


Blurb:
Lieutenant William Thorne, of His Majesty's Navy, is a man of humble origins. He knows that his affair with Major Anthony Rockingham of the 43rd Infantry can't last forever, not only because the war against Napoleon has sent him on blockade duty in the English Channel while the major's regiment trained ashore, but because Rockingham is a viscount, and viscounts must marry. When Rockingham's letter reaches him, saying that he'd chosen Miss Caroline Filmer as his bride, it is no more than Thorne had expected.

What he does not expect, when he returns home after the Battle of Trafalgar, is to find an invitation to the christening of Rockingham's son. He does not expect, when he meets the young viscountess, that he would fall instantly and passionately in love with her. And he certainly does not expect that Caroline would fall just as desperately in love with him. Thorne is sure that their feelings for each other can only lead to disaster, even more so as his love for Rockingham has never gone away. While the war with France continues, Thorne finds himself fighting a war within his own heart.

Excerpt:

"She's well practiced at arranging such things," Anthony said. "But I fear it was very tiring for you, even so. Do you wish to sleep?"

"I do." Caroline drew in a breath, gathering her courage. "But, Anthony, I would speak with you."

"Of course, my darling. What did you wish to say?"

Caroline curled tighter against him, trying to reassure herself that she would not soon be pushed away. "Do you remember, before we wed, when you bid me that should I ever find myself in love, I should tell you of it, and you would not reproach me?"

Anthony kissed her hair, and rubbed his hand in circles on her back. "I remember well. Are you telling me of that now?"

Caroline found that she could answer him only in the smallest of voices. "I am."

He kissed her again. "I'm glad to hear you tell me," he said. "I hoped very much that you would believe me when I said I'd not be angry, and trust me enough to do so. I'm glad you find me worthy of that trust. But you are unhappy. Will you tell me more?"

Caroline blinked back the tears that were welling in her eyes. "I did not wish this," she said. "It came all unbidden. I hoped it might be a moment's fancy, but I cannot put him from my thoughts. I fear I am in love with Lieutenant Thorne." She sniffled. "And I was right. Being in love is most uncomfortable."

Anthony held her close, resting his lips at the crown of her head as she hid her face against his shoulder. He moved his hand in slow strokes down her spine. "Oh, my darling. I'm sorry it grieves you so. I don't blame you for an instant. William is the best of men, and it's no surprise you should love him. I love him, too."

"But hardly in the same way, I think, my lord?"

"In very much the same way, I should think. I'll speak it plain: you wish to lie with him?"

The tears would not be stopped. "I do."

"As do I," Anthony said softly. "We were lovers once, and I care for him still."

The surprise was enough to do what comfort could not. Lovers? Well, Anthony had said, upon their very wedding night, that he'd lain at times with men. She'd not taken much notice of it at the time, being intent on other concerns, and he'd never spoken of it since. But he'd told her privately of Captain Birtwhistle's love for Alexander Godwin, not with any distaste, but only so that she might not trouble them with questions about sweethearts; and with Mr. Godwin one of Stephen's godfathers, it was clear at least that Anthony counted it no sin, never mind who might think otherwise. And could she fault him for desiring William, when she did the same? But that they'd once been lovers... she'd never have suspected.

Love Continuance and Increasing by Julian Griffith – Now Available from Storm Moon Press for $6.99 (ebook) or $13.99 (paperback)